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REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
Every employer is required to report the following six mandatory elements within 20 days of any newly hired/rehired 
employee’s first day of work: employer name, federal employer identification number, mailing address and employee 
name, social security number, mailing address. It is optional and encouraged to report the employee’s date of hire or 
rehire and date of birth.
   

REPORTING OPTIONS
Employers have a number of reporting options. Paper: Mail or fax the Utah New Hire Registry Reporting Form 6, or 
the employee’s W-4, or computer printouts that provide all six of the mandatory elements outlined above. Magnetic 
Medium: Submit reports on magnetic tape/cartridge or diskette. Electronic Medium:  Submit reports online at http://
jobs.utah.gov/newhire or by electronic file transfer. Telephone: Call between 8:00am and 5:00pm MST to report up 
to three individual new hires at one time. It is encouraged to submit information magnetically or electronically.  For 
specifications on magnetic medium reports or electronic file transfer, please contact the New Hire Registry.
   

REPORTING BY MULTI-STATE EMPLOYERS
Employers who employ workers in more than 1 state have the option to report all new hires to a single state in which 
the business has employees. To exercise this option a multi-state employer must (1) notify the Secretary of Health 
and Human Services in writing to designate the state to which they will report new hires and (2) transmit the report 
magnetically and electronically to the designated state.  Write the request to: US Dept of Health& Human Services, 
Office of Child Support Enforcement, P.O. Box 509, Randallstown, MD 2113. Additional information concerning multi-
state reporting requirements is available from the US Dept of Health & Human Services at telephone number 410-
277-9470. http://www.acf.dhhs.gov/programs/cse.  The Stat of Utah strongly encourages multi-state employers to 
report newly hired Utah employees to the Utah New Hire Registry. This will help businesses reduce unemployment 
insurance costs by detecting and preventing unemployment overpayments and fraud. 
   

WHERE TO REPORT NEW HIRE INFORMATION
To mail reports, send to Utah New Hire Registry, 140 E 300 S, P.O. Box 45247, SLC UT 84145-0247. To fax reports, 
fax to (801) 526-4391. Or call (801) 526-4361 in the Salt Lake Valley or toll free at (800) 222-2857 extension 4361. Or 
information on the internet can be found at http://jobs.utah.gov/newhire.
   

PENALTIES FOR NOT REPORTING
An employer who fails to timely report the hiring or rehiring of an employee as required by law is subject to a civil 
penalty of $25 for each such failure or; $500 if the failure to report is intentional and is the result of an agreement 
between the employer and the employee to not supply the required information, or to supply false or incomplete 
information.
   

SPECIFIC REPORTING INFORMATION
For information on requirements of magnetic or electronic data submission as well as definitions of  “employer”, 
“employee”, “multi-state employer” and “new hire/rehire”, please contact the New Hire Registry.
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CONTACT INFORMATION


