It is against the law for the Department of Workforce Services’ (DWS),
Housing & Community Development Division, a recipient of Federal
financial assistance, to discriminate on the following basis:

e Against any individual in the United States on the basis of race, color, religion, sex,
national origin, age disability, political affiliation or belief; and

e Against any beneficiary of programs financially assisted in whole or in part under Section
109 of the Housing & Community Development Act of 1974 on the basis of the
beneficiary’s race, color, national origin, sex or religion.

What to Do If You Believe You Have Experienced Discrimination

If you think that you have been subjected to discrimination under a Section 109 of the
Housing & Community Development financially assisted program or activity, you must
file a complaint within 180 days from the date of the alleged violation with either:

The State of Utah, Department of Workforce Services Equal Opportunity Officer:

Carolyn Parsons 801-526-9445 e-mail: cparsons@utah.gov

Customer Relations at (801) 526-4390 or 1-800-331-4341, or
in writing to either DWS or the Civil Rights Center, as listed below.

Individuals with speech and /or hearing impairments may call: State Relay at 1-800-346-4128

If you believe you have been discriminated against by DWS or one of its affiliates, you may download the form 495
(pdf format), complete it and either present it to a local Employment Center or mail it directly the EO Officer at the
address below.

Equal Opportunity/Customer Relations | The Director, Civil Rights Center (CRC)

Department of Workforce Services U.S. Department of Labor
P.O. Box 45249 200 Constitution Ave. NW,
Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0249 Room N-4123

Washington, DC 20210

If you file a complaint with DWS, you must wait either until DWS issues a written Notice of Final Action, or until 90
days have passed (whichever is sooner), before filing with the CRC, (see address above).

If DWS does not send you a written Notice of Final Action within 90 days of the day on which you filed your
complaint, you do not have to wait for DWS to issue that Notice before filing a complaint with CRC. However, you
must file your CRC complaint within 30 days of the 90-day deadline (in other words, within 120 days after the day

on which you filed your complaint with DWS).If DWS does give you a written Notice of Final Action on your

complaint, but you are dissatisfied with the decision or resolution, you may file a complaint with the CRC. You must
file your CRC complaint within 30 days of the date on which you received the Notice of Final Action.


mailto:cparsons@utah.gov
http://jobs.utah.gov/edo/495.pdf
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