About the Refugee Services Office

Purpose

Building a bridge to success for refugees in our community through collaboration, coordination and service delivery.

Vision

We envision a strong integrated community engaged to empower refugees’ access to the family-sustaining employment necessary to succeed in Utah for generations to come.

Mission

To energize, educate and empower refugees to achieve their dreams through quality services offered in a collaborative resource-rich environment.

Contact

8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Monday-Friday (closed on Federal and State holidays)

Utah Refugee Education and Training Center
250 East 3900 South, SLC, UT 84107

Phone: 801-618-5096
Email: refugeeoffice@utah.gov

News Media Contact

Bethany Hyatt, Public Information Officer
385-315-1208
bethanyhyatt@utah.gov

Staff

Title Title Phone Email
Asha Parekh Director 801-661-4018 aparekh@utah.gov
Gerald Brown State Refugee Coordinator, Assistant Director 801-703-4845 geraldbrown@utah.gov
Jackie Rader Administrative Assistant 801-618-5096 jrader@utah.gov
Mario Kljajo Refugee Employment Manager 385-272-6211 mkljajo@utah.gov
Lam Nguyen Community Resource Specialist Manager 801-901-2072 lnguyen@utah.gov
Mollie Murphy Dale Contracts and Budget Manager 385-212-4170 mmurphydale@utah.gov
Sahil Oberoi Refugee Center Programming Coordinator 435-512-9395 soberoi@utah.gov
Michael Pekarske Community Resource Specialist Supervisor 801-759-5976 mpekarske@utah.gov
Irina Pierpont Case Management & Adult ESL Specialist 801-526-9759 ipierpont@utah.gov
Ayelen Butler Housing, Volunteers & Older Adults Specialist 801-691-8522 aybutler@utah.gov
Agnes Lomu Employment Specialist 801-414-5848 alomu@utah.gov
Solomon Awan Job Developer 801-865-5270 sawan@utah.gov
Hari Koirala Job Developer 801-448-5654 hkoirala@utah.gov
Darija Cerninski Refugee Employment Supervisor 801-536-7129 dcernin@utah.gov
Joe Nahas Community Capacity Builder 801-759-5976 jnahas@utah.gov
Faeiza Javed Social Worker 801-634-3782 faeizaj@utah.gov
Alexx Goeller Youth Services Coordinator 801-347-3218 agoeller@utah.gov
Halima Hussein Women​'​s Coordinator 385-214-5020 hhussein@utah.gov
Garroe Wah Community Resource Specialist - Karen 801-865-5270 garroewah@utah.gov
Suavis Kanyange Community Resource Specialist - Burundi 801-970-4076 skanyange@utah.gov
Antoinette Uwanyiugira Community Resource Specialist - Congo 801-654-6325 auwanyiugira@utah.gov
Atem Aleu Community Resource Specialist - Sudan / South Sudan 385-315-9355 aaleu@utah.gov