
Utah Back to Work Program 
 
 
Are you thinking about hiring in the near future?  Are you aware of the Federal and State incentive 
programs currently available to employers who hire current Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
claimants?   Are you interested in participating in a program which could positively impact your UI 
contribution rate 
 
The Utah Department of Workforce Services (DWS) has many services in place to assist job seekers 
in re-entering the workforce.  One of these services is the Utah Back to Work Program.  This 
program has been implemented to entice employers to hire current Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
claimants for a four month time period.    
 
Guidelines are:  
      

• Private for-profit and non-profit employers who are adding new positions are eligible. 
• Employers must be current on their UI taxes/reports. 
• Government employers (except public and higher education), temporary help companies 

and professional employer organizations are not eligible to participate in this program. 
• A $500 subsidy payment will be paid to the employer during the first month of hire, for 

each eligible UI claimant. 
• After three months of employment, a final payment of $1,500 will be paid. 
• Current employees cannot be displaced to participate in this program. 
• Previous eligible employees can be re-hired IF the employees have not been employed 

for 40 hours or more within the 60 days previous to their Back-to-Work hire date. 
• Employers must pay a minimum of $9.00 per hour and guarantee a minimum of 35 hours 

of work per week. 
• Unemployed youth, ages 18-24, who are not receiving paid UI benefits may also be 

eligible for this program. 
• Job candidate must have at least 10 weeks left on unemployment claim. 
• Job candidate must have at least one minor dependant child and be contributing to their 

financial support  
• Employers are not required to keep the BTW employee after the 3 month program time 

period, but they are encouraged to. 
 
 

The employer may be able to combine this subsidy with the recently enacted federal 
Hiring Incentives to Restore Employment (HIRE) act.  For more information regarding this 
program go to www.irs.gov and search “HIRE Act”.  
 

For more information about this program, please contact your local Department of Workforce 
Services or call 1-888-920-9675.  Additional information about this program can be located at 
www.jobs.utah.gov\btw…….. 

 
 
 

http://www.irs.gov/


 


