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About the Bonus

DEADLINES:
August 30, 2022 - Last date to register with Care About Childcare
August 31, 2022 5pm - Absolute date and time deadline to submit
application and receive support to submit an application.

What is the “Youth and Early Care Workforce Bonus?”
The Department of Workforce Services, Office of Child Care (DWS, OCC) is pleased to
announce the Youth and Early Care Workforce Bonus. DWS, OCC recognizes each of the
12,000+ youth and early care professionals for their fortitude and resilience, and appreciates the
hard work of these individuals. We are grateful that the child care community has continued to
support working families through the pandemic, despite many hardships. The state and OCC
received just over $108 million in Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental
Appropriations (CRRSA). The office has elected to purposefully allocate some of these
remaining funds to acknowledge the essential youth and early care workforce. Upon application
approval, each eligible individual will receive a significant one-time bonus as a “thank you” for
their dedication to serving Utah’s children and youth on the front lines every day.

How is this being funded?
DWS, OCC is utilizing Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriation Act
(CRRSA) funds to pay for this award.

Why is OCC giving out this funding?
At the onset of the pandemic, and throughout its variations with school closures and business
closures, our Child Care workforce has continued its service to working Utah families. These



professionals are still striving to deliver quality care, despite staff shortages. This is a way for
Utah to say “thank you.”

How much is being awarded?
Each eligible youth and early care professional will receive a one-time $2,000 bonus from DWS,
OCC.

Who is eligible for this incentive?
This bonus opportunity is available to a majority of the child care workforce that have a current
(non-expired) and valid background check number issued by the Department of Health (soon to
be the Department of Health and Human Services), Child Care Licensing Program (CCL), and
are currently employed at a program or facility with one of the following license types and
position designations:

Program: License Type

Center Residential Certificate

DWS Approved - Exempt
Center

DWS Approved - FFN in Provider’s
Home

Commercial Preschool DWS Approved - FFN in Child’s Home

Hourly Center Out of School Time Program

Licensed Family DWS Approved - Exempt School Age
Program

Program: Role Designation
All employees assigned the role of Caregiver (‘C’) in the Child Care Licensing (CCL) Portal will
be eligible to receive the bonus. This designation in CCL should include the following types of
positions:

● Lead Caregiver or Teacher
● Assistant Caregiver or Teacher
● Substitute/Floater Caregiver or Teacher

Employees 18 or older assigned a role of Owner (‘O’), Director (‘D’), Director Designee (‘DD’)
or Other Staff (‘E’) in the CCL Portal will also be eligible to receive the bonus. These
designations in CCL should include the following types of positions:

● Owner or Licensee
● Director
● Assistant Director
● Director Designee
● Onsite Coach or Coordinator

Page 2 of 8



● Onsite Administrative Assistant or Office Manager
● Cook
● Driver
● Custodian or Janitor
● Other Onsite Supporting Staff

The applicant must have a Care About Childcare account, which lists their current Child Care
Licensing Background Check #, eligible program(s) and eligible role(s) on their profile’s “Contact
Information” page.

Application Requirements

How do I apply for this incentive?
You can start the process today by registering for an account on the Care About Childcare
website, https://cac.utah.gov. Your account must include your current Child Care Licensing
Background Check Number, eligible program and role(s) listed on your profile’s “Contact
Information” page in order to access the application. Individuals who have completed this
registration will receive an email with additional information when the online application is
available. Registration in Care About Childcare must be completed by August 30, 2022 in order
to qualify for this bonus. The final date and time to submit your application will be 5pm, August
31, 2022. Applications or requests for support after this date and time will not be considered.

Do I have to be working full-time to receive this incentive?
No, you do not need to be working full-time to receive this incentive, but you do need to be
employed at the time of application and the time of verification of employment during the
application processing phase. As this funding is intended to reward those that have helped
ensure the continuation of our child care workforce, employees must attest to the intent to
continue employment at their current work location for at least six months upon receipt of the
award.

Do I need to be a resident of the State of Utah to receive this bonus?
No. However, you must work at an eligible Utah facility.

What is the application period?
Applications are open as of July 19, 2022 and will stay open for applicants until August 31,
2022, 5pm. Ensure you are pre-registered to receive your application as soon as it is available.

What happens if I miss the deadline?
Unfortunately, DWS, OCC cannot process any applications that miss the application deadline
due to funding restrictions.
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Who do I contact if I need technical assistance with my application?
If you need assistance with your application, please contact the OCC help desk at
OCCworkforcebonus@utah.gov. You may provide your telephone number if you would like OCC
to contact you by phone.

Who do I contact if I need translation assistance with my application?
If you need assistance with translation, please contact our OCC help desk at
OCCworkforcebonus@utah.gov

Submitting an Application

I have an active Care About Childcare account. How do I apply for this bonus?
Anyone who has an active Care About Childcare account, that is associated with one of the
eligible license-type facilities and has been identified as having an eligible role should receive
an email from OCC Workforce Bonus Support. Within this email is a link to your available
application. If you have followed all the steps required to apply, and still have not received an
active link, you may not meet the eligibility requirements. If you feel that this is in error, please
contact occworkforcebonus@utah.gov for assistance.
If you just created a Care About Childcare account, please note that it can take up to 24
business hours for your application email to be sent to you.

How do I complete the application?
Please follow these step-by-step instructions to complete your application. If you are still unsure
of something, please contact occworkforcebonus@utah.gov for assistance.

What do I need to have prepared to apply for the bonus?
● Background Check number issued by Utah’s Child Care Licensing Program (Help)
● Program/Facility name and ID number as listed on Child Care Licensing (Help)
● An individual account and login for the Care About Childcare (CAC) website,

https://cac.utah.gov
● A current Child Care Licensing Background Check number, eligible program and role

listed on my CAC profile’s “Contact Information” page (Help)
● Social Security number or FEIN (if individual is operating as a sole proprietor)
● Employment Verification Supporting Documentation (one of the following):

○ Most current pay stub issued within the past 30 days from your application date,
○ Employment Verification Form; or
○ Unexpired license from Utah’s Child Care Licensing Program with your name

listed as the licensee

Why does OCC need the data requested?
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All information is necessary for DWS to issue payments to an individual and to verify current
employment as well as issue a 1099 for the next tax season. Additionally, DWS is collecting
demographic information on the individuals that receive this one-time bonus to better
understand the youth and early care workforce and inform our programming for the future. Your
personal information will be kept confidential according to all applicable state and federal laws
and regulations and will not be shared without your permission except as required by state or
federal law. This information may be included in aggregate data and reports provided to local,
regional, state and federal stakeholders.

How do I find my organization/center/program facility ID number?
Go to https://ccl.utah.gov, and use the “Find a Facility” search to find your facility. Click on your
facility name, and view the number next to the facility name. The number will follow this pattern:
FXX-123456.

What do I do if my legal name and name for my background check ID do not match?
Before submitting your application, you must ensure that your legal name and the name listed in
the Child Care Licensing Portal associated with your background check number are the same. If
you need to change this with Child Care Licensing, you must reach out to the Office of
Background Processing at clearance-childcare@utah.gov or866-320.0513.

I do not have a CCL background check number; can I still get this incentive?
Unfortunately, no. Anyone who wishes to receive this incentive must have a current CCL
background check number. This is the only system in which DWS, OCC can verify employment
with a provider. Any provider that receives DWS funds or is “DWS-Approved” can submit
background check requests with CCL.

I worked in child care in the past; am I eligible for this incentive?
No, this incentive is for those that are currently employed with a child care provider.

I am assigned to multiple program sites within Child Care Licensing. Which site
information do I use?
You will list the site to which you were most recently assigned or work at the most during the
week. If there is equal time between all sites, pick your most recent.

Why do I need to submit a pay stub or other verification of employment?
This will verify that you are currently employed with an approved facility.

Why does DWS need me to fill out a W-9 form?
Federal law requires any person who receives a payment of at least $600 to complete a W-9
form for tax purposes. Completion of a W-9 will ensure that you receive the correct tax
documentation for next year’s tax filings.
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You are responsible for any tax liability (Federal, State, and/or other) associated with this
payment, and will receive an IRS 1099 form following the close of the calendar tax year. It is
your responsibility to consult your tax professional regarding the handling of this tax liability.

How do I complete the W-9 Form?
To learn more about completing a W-9, please follow this link to a help video and transcript
provided by the IRS. If you need further assistance, please contact a tax professional.

How do I upload documentation to my application?
Within the application, you will be directed to upload documentation where necessary. You will
not be able to proceed beyond the upload pages until documentation has been uploaded. File
sizes are limited to no more than 20 MB per file. If you are using .jpeg images, you may need to
resize the files to ensure ability to upload.

Can I submit a paper application?
No, only electronic application submissions will be accepted.

Can I complete my application over a period of time?
Yes, your application will be active and open for additions or editing prior to submission under
the registered UtahID.

Can I edit my application after submitting?
No. Once your application is submitted, you will not be able to edit your application. If you
submitted your application in error and need to make a correction, please reach out to our
designated help desk at OCCworkforcebonus@utah.gov.

Organization Support

Can my organization/center/program use this as a recruitment tool?
Absolutely.

Who in my organization/center/program is eligible to apply?
Any individuals 16 or older employed at an eligible organization who is designated with the
Caregiver (‘C’) role in the Child Care Licensing (CCL) Portal will be eligible to receive the
bonus. This designation in CCL should include the lead, assistant or substitute caregivers or
teachers.

Any individuals 18 or older employed at an eligible organization who is designated with one of
the following roles in the Child Care Licensing Provider Portal is eligible to apply:

● Owner ‘O’ (An individual, not a corporation)
● Director ‘D’
● Director Designee ‘DD’
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● Other Staff ‘E’ (Onsite administrative assistants, office managers, cooks, drivers,
custodians/janitors, coaches/coordinators and any other onsite supporting staff)

How can an organization/center/program help their staff receive this incentive?
Organizations/centers/programs can help their workforce receive this incentive by ensuring that:

● Every employee is associated with the program and has an eligible role assigned in the
in CCL provider portal;

● Every employee has a current background check with CCL; and
● Every employee has access to their most recent pay stub or receives a complete

employment verification form.

Why are “drop-in centers” employees not eligible for this incentive?
While DWS, OCC does appreciate the availability of drop-in care centers, these programs do
not meet the licensing requirements of the Child Care and Development Funds, and are not
eligible for the incentive.

Why are some owners allowed to collect the incentive, while others are not?
Some programs are owned by corporations, not individuals. Those owners are not eligible to
receive this incentive. All private owners must also be residents of the state of Utah.

Why can’t volunteers, board members, household members or business administrators
connected to a child care program receive this incentive?
While we appreciate the work that is done by the others listed above, this incentive is for paid
employees in eligible roles.

After the Application is Submitted

How do I know if I submitted the application properly?
Upon successful completion and submission of your application, you will receive a confirmation
email verifying your submission.

Will I be notified if my application is approved or rejected?
After DWS, OCC has reviewed your application, you will receive a confirmation that the
application has either been approved, denied or rejected. If the application is denied or rejected,
you will receive notice explaining why.

Why didn't I receive an email confirmation that my application was
submitted/approved/rejected?
Status emails will be sent automatically to the email address provided in the application. Verify
that you have the correct email address. Also, check your spam folder to ensure that the
verification did not end up there.
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Why was my application rejected?
In many instances, applications can be rejected due to licensing numbers being invalid,
background check numbers not matching the applicant's name, the W-9 not being completed in
entirety, missing information within your application, or during the review process, your validity of
work was not able to be determined. You will receive an email with the rejection details.

Can I appeal a denied application?
If you feel that your application was denied without justification, please contact:
OCCworkforcebonus@utah.gov

Can I submit a new application if my previous application was denied?
No. A person may not submit more than one application. If your application is rejected on the
basis that items were missing or incorrect, you will receive an email asking you to update the
information to resubmit your application. If your application was denied because you do not
qualify for this bonus, you will not receive notice to resubmit.

When can I expect to receive my payment?
Payments will be made to successful applicants on a weekly basis. After you have submitted
your application, you may check the status of your payment within your application page. If you
have not received your payment by the end of October 2022, please email
OCCworkforcebonus@utah.gov.

How will I receive my payment?
All approved applicants will receive their payment via a check to the mailing address provided in
the application.

Issues That are Currently Being Seen or Addressed with Prospective Applicants

Some applications are being sent back to applicants because of rushing and not
double-checking your information. All of these reasons below will have your application
being returned to you to fix.
Application is sent back to you because of one of these reasons:

1. Your Social Security Number does not match
a. Your entered number in your contact information and your re-entry of this number

in the terms and conditions do not match. Ensure you are typing them exactly,
without dashes or spaces. Numbers only.

2. Facility ID # Inaccurate
a. Your entered number does not match that found in Child Care Licensing

3. Background Check # Inaccurate
a. Your entered number does not match that found in Child Care Licensing

4. Employment Verification Form Incomplete
a. Not all areas of this form have been completed. Ensure all fields are completed.

5. Employment Verification Form Mismatch
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a. Your name or Employer's name is not what you listed on your application.
6. Pay Stub Missing Information

a. Missing Name, date of pay, name of employer, if you are currently employed,
number of hours worked (hourly pay rate), signature of employer, date signed, or
your signature.

7. Pay Stub Outside of 30 Days
a. Any proof of employment must be within the past 30 days.

8. Pay Stub Mismatch
a. Your name or Employer’s name is not what is listed on your application.

9. License for Employment Verification Mismatch
a. Name is not the same as that of applicant.

10. License for Employment Verification Expired
a. Your license is not valid for proof until the expiration date is corrected.

11. W-9 Form Incomplete
a. You must ensure you have completed all 6 sections on this form to include:

i. Checking if you are an individual or organization
b. Signature can be typed if you are filling in via PDF.
c. Form could not be opened because it is not a typical file type. Avoid download

issues by ensuring you use a PDF, doc, docx, or JPEG.
12. W-9 Form Mismatch

a. Name on the form does not match that of the name of the applicant.
13. Signature Mismatch

a. The signature in the terms and conditions does not match the name of the
applicant.

i. Must at least be first initial and full last name.
14. CCL Name Mismatch

a. Your name in Child Care Licensing does not match the name on the application.
i. Before submitting your application, you must ensure that your legal name

and the name listed in the Child Care Licensing Portal associated with
your background check number are the same. If you need to change this
with Child Care Licensing, you must reach out to the Office of Background
Processing at clearance-childcare@utah.gov or866-320.0513.

Care About Childcare Registration issues

It can take up to three business days for your Care About Childcare to fully update when you
connect your background check number to your user account. The information regarding your
facility and role must be linked to your account before you will be determined for eligibility of the
bonus.
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