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Utah New Hire Reporting
Requirements

® Must Report within 20 Days of 1st day worked or
within 60 days of a rehire:

L EmPIOYee SSN
— Employee Name
— Employee Address

— Employee Date of birth



Who 1s Subject To the
Employment Security Act?

® You are subject if you meet any of the following
requirements:

Employed ong or more individuals for some portion of a
day during a/calendar year

Acquired your business from an employer who was subject
to this act.

501c(3) with 4 or more employees in 20 different weeks
during a calendar year.

All non-profits without 501 (c)(3) classification are subject if
employ one or more individuals for some portion of a day
during a calendar year.




Exempt From Coverage Sole
Proprietor/Partner/LLC

® Services performed by an individual owner
(proprietor) and his/her:

—~  Spouse
— Parent(s)
—  Minor child or children (under age 21)

® Services performed by a general partner:

- A worker who bears an exempt relationship to all partners
(a minor child in a husband and wife partnership, for
example), would also be exempt

@ This applies to partnership entities to LLC’s




Exempt From Coverage
Sole Proprietorship

® Services performed by a member of limited
11ab111ty company (LLC) f111ng as a sole




Exempt From Coverage
Salesperson

® Salespersons:

— Who do not swvork on the
employer’s premises




Exempt From Coverage
Independent Contractors

® Independent contractors may be excluded from
coverage if the individual is:

—  Customarily engaged in an independently
established trade occupation, profession, or
business of the same nature as that involved in the
contract of hire for services; and

-~ The indjividual has been and will continue to be
free from control or direction over the means of
performance of those services, both under the

individuals’ contract of hire and in fact.
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What Are Considered
Wages?

Wages as defined
3306(b), internal
code of 1986




2015 FUTA Credits

® Annual Federal Unemployment Tax (FUTA, Form
940) return is due January 31st for the prior
calendar year.

If your state unemployment insurance is paid by January
315t then you can receive up to a 90% credit against your
FUTA tax.”

FUTA rate - Credit = Final FUTA rate
Example:;?

6% FUTA,,?fax — 5.4% credit for timely payment of state
unemployment insurance = .6% final FUTA tax




e = N Unemployment

e TAXC Insurance Tax Rate
o Notice

® Rate notices awvill be mailed out in late November
for the following calendar year

® Employers/have the right to appeal their rate
determination within 30 days of notification




New Employer
Industry/Rate

— Industry Rate — ranges between 1.1% and 7.2%
— Per Statute construction contractors who have
operated in another state before coming to Utah will

receive he maximum rate of 7.2%



Calculating Experience Tax
Rates

@© At least one fiscal year
(July 1 - June 30) 1s
required to calculate a
contribution rate:

— Reported wages greater
than zero July —
September

~ Reported wages greater
than zero October — June




Formula for Calculating
Experience Tax Rates

© Benefit Costs: Unemployment benefits paid to
former employees that are charged to the
employers account

® Taxable Wages: The taxable portion of each
employees wages (up to $33,100 for 2017).

_  Total wages are reported, but the amount in excess
of the taxable

age base is not taxed
©® The Benefit Ratio: (Benefit Costs/Taxable wages)

is calculated on'the last 4 fiscal years.
— Afiscal year is July 1 through June 30




Formula for Calculating
Experience Tax Rates

® Reserve Factor:The Reserve factor is a multiplier
(factor), which is adjusted up or down on an annual
basis depending on the overall health of the UI Trust
Fund balance

® Social Costs:/The Social Costs are those Benefit
Costs that cannot be charged back to specific
employers and are added to the Ul tax rate for all
employers

® Surcharge;A 1% surcharge is added to the overall
rate if the employer owes contribution for the prior
fiscal year




Example Formulas

Benefit Costs x Reserve Factor + Social Cost = Overall Tax Rate

Taxable Wages
$1550 = .031 x

$50,000

00 + .003 = 0.034

Quarterly taxable wage $4,550 x 0.034 - $154.70 (quarterly tax)
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Create a user account — Department of Workforce Services
' a [P, . e R .
Jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer

Sign In

Tax Roporting New Hire Reporting
Vihe @ M Hose et Mo

Otrer Cpuens o Email Address

[ 7 sio s W / Password Forgot Password?

s &> Crck
v e e / Are you a first ime u§er? Click here to signup Now

Vi o evpandonce Mow >

Hello. Click here to sign in.

Advantages to Electronic Filing:

Save time and expense of mailing in the form

Use the PIN only once to gain access to your
account. Future access is through use of your
e-mail and password

We will send you a confirmation
email. Please follow the
instructions in that email to
complete your account

due date registration

Add an existing business to my user account

oo, Satn Bemn

E-mail sent to alert you of upcoming report

Add An Existing Business To My User Account
Tax Reporting New Hire Reporting Notice of Clakm Filing Pt et smmh e S Gouiy S iiite PO, My e pot s s

Soe o e e mapart N rie a7 arm ooe e >
Other Options
Correspondence
View Carrespenasnce tew >
© Sign Up reowt

Other Options

Business Registration
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On-line tax filing

Advantages to
Electronic Filing:

Enter employee SSN and
name only once. They are
saved for future reporting
and you only need to enter
wages

Running total kept of
individual wages, accurate
calculation of excess (taxable
wages)

Accurate computation of
contribution, interest or
filing penalty

Unemployment Insurance and New Hire Reporting

Tax Reporting

Current Filin
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Ul Tax Rate
Otner Options

File Tax Report -

& Manually Enter Wages

@ Upload a Wage File
Payments = @

@ Amend = Past Repont
Make a Pay

Other Options
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File Tax Report ~
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Options

View Corre

Hello, John Smith ~

"= tive chat |

New Hire Reporting Notice of Claim Filing

File a New Hire Report Now ~ File a Form 606 Now >

Other Options Other Options
- past new hire report - View

Account Admin

Ul Account Number C 9-000001-0
Account Status Inactee

Correspondence

View Correspondence Now > CONTR EMPLOYER ACCTS
303 S 200 WE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84120

Most Popular Admin Options

"Other Options

Business Registration
Create a New Ul Account For a Business > Other Options
Other Options -
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Unempicyment insurance and New Hire Reporting
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Unemployment Insurance and New Hire Reporting
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Upload Your Wage File

Please select the wage fie you would ke to upload by chcking the E

Do you have questions about your wage file?
= To view the file formats we accept
- To upk

- Haang prob

se button. and B

Correct tax rate is already
entered, no more miscalculation
Online filing can be accomplished
by manually inputting data or by
uploading a file.

Payment can be made online by
using a bank account after
completing quarterly filing. The
payment options are displayed as

part of the filing process.




DWS Contact Information

@ Ul Benefits
~ Claim Filing
— Separation
- Requests
— Report Fraud
For claimants to file:

801-526-4400 or
jobs.utah.gov

Employer Line:

801-526-4400 or
888-848-0688, choose option 4
Chat Line: jobs.utah.g

@ UI Contributions
— Quarterly Tax Filing
-~ Tax Rates
~ Subject Wages
- New Hire Reporting
Employer Accounts:
801-526-9235
Quarterly Tax Filing:
jobs.utah.gov
Chat Line available:

jobs.utah.gov






