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Of Unemployment Insurance 
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Utah New Hire Reporting 
Requirements 

• Must Report within 20 Days of 1st day worked or within 
60 days of a rehire: 
– Employee SSN 
– Employee Name 
– Employee Address 
– Employer FEIN 
– Employer Name 
– Employer Address 
– Date of hire 

• Optional information: 
– Employee Date of birth 
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Types of Employers 
• A Contributory employer pays a quarterly 

unemployment insurance contribution (tax).  This 
contribution goes into the Trust Fund (Reserve) and is 
used to pay unemployment insurance benefits 

 
• A Reimbursable employer does not pay a quarterly 

contribution to the Trust Fund.  They reimburse the 
Trust Fund for any unemployment insurance benefits 
paid to their former employees.  Only governmental or 
non-profit 501(c)(3) entities can opt to be reimbursable 

 

Continued 
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Types of Employers 
 

• A Successor employer is one that acquires an existing business and 
meets the required conditions prescribed by rule.  The predecessor is 
the employing unit which last operated the business and no longer is 
an employer in Utah.  The successor retains the account number, 
changing the first and last digits to show succession.  The 
predecessor's rate is transferred to the successor and future rates are 
calculated using wage and benefit history of both employers 
 

• In a Merger (Inheritance Transfer) an existing business acquires 
another existing business.  The acquired company’s unemployment 
insurance account is closed, and the history of its taxable wages and 
benefit costs are transferred to the surviving company’s 
unemployment insurance account.  The combined history of both the 
acquired company and the surviving company are used to calculate 
the contribution rate 
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Who Is Subject To The 
Employment Security Act? 

• You are subject if you meet the following requirements, 
including but not limited to: 
– Paid wages of $1 or more during a calendar quarter 
– Acquired your business from an employer who was subject to 

this Act 
– Non-profit organization 501c(3) with 4 or more employees in 20 

different weeks during a calendar year 
– Employ agricultural workers and pay wages of $20,000/quarter 

OR employ 10 or more employees in 20 weeks 
– Pay wages of $1,000 or more in a calendar quarter to a domestic 

(household) employee 
– Corporation and pay remuneration to corporate officers 
– Employer subject to FUTA 
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What Common Employment Is 
Exempt From Coverage? 

• Services performed by an individual owner (proprietor) and the 
owner’s spouse, owners parent(s) or minor children (under age 21) 
 

• Services performed by a general partner.  A worker who bears an 
exempt relationship to all partners (a minor child in a husband and 
wife partnership, for example), would also be exempt 
 

• Services performed by a member of limited liability company 
(LLC), who are filing with the IRS as a sole proprietorship or a 
partnership. If filing an 1120S Federal Corporate return, then all 
member’s wages are subject to UI coverage and contributions. 
(There is no family exemption for an LLC) 

 
Continued 
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What Common Employment 
Is Exempt From Coverage? 

• Independent contractors are excluded from coverage if 
both A and B are met: 

 

– A. The individual is customarily engaged in an independently 
established trade, occupation, profession, or business of the 
same nature as that involved in the contract of hire for 
services;  

 

AND 
 

– B. The individual has been and will continue to be free from 
control or direction over the means of performance of those 
services, both under the individuals’ contract of hire and in 
fact. 
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• Salespersons: 
 

– Who do not work on the employer’s premises, and 
 
–  Are free from the employer’s control and direction, and 
 
– Are paid solely by way of commission 

 
Note: Except Traveling or City Salesman are subject. 
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• Wages as currently defined by section 3306(b),  
Internal Revenue Code of 1986 

– Wages are payments for services rendered and include: 
o Hourly wages, salaries, and commissions 
o Meals, lodging and other payments in kind 
o Tips and gratuities 
o Remuneration for services of an employee with equipment 
o Vacation pay and sick pay 
o Separation or dismissal pay 
o Bonuses and gifts 
o Payments in stock 
o Employee contributions to deferred compensation plans, 

including 401K plans 
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• Annual Federal Unemployment Tax (FUTA, Form 940) 

return is due January 31st for the prior calendar year. 
 

• If your state unemployment insurance is paid by 
January 31st, then you receive a credit against your 
FUTA 

 
 FUTA  rate     -     Credit     =    Final FUTA rate 
 
 Example: 
 
 6.0%  -    5.4%    =   .6% 
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• Rate notices will be mailed out in late November for 

the following calendar year 
 
• Employers have the right to appeal their rate 

determination within 30 days of notification 
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• For 2015 
 

– The new Employer Contribution rate is based on a 2 year 
industry average 
 

– Industry Rate – ranges between 1.3% and 7.3% 
 

–  Per Statute construction contractors  who have operated 
in another state before coming to Utah will receive the 
maximum rate of  7.3% 

 



        
• At least one fiscal year (July 1 - June 30) is required to calculate a contribution rate with 

reported wages greater than zero in July – September.  Must have reported wages greater 
than zero October – June. 
 

        
Benefit Costs   =   Benefit Ratio then Benefit Ratio  x    Reserve Factor   +   Social Cost     =   Overall Tax Rate 
Taxable Wages 

 

• Benefit Costs:  Unemployment benefits paid to former employees that are charged to the 
employers account 
 

• Taxable Wages: The taxable portion of each employees wages (up to $31,300 for 2015). Total 
wages are reported, but the amount in excess of the taxable wage base is not taxed  
 

• The Benefit Ratio (Benefit Costs/Taxable wages) is calculated on the last 4 fiscal years.  A 
fiscal year is July 1 through June 30 

  
• Reserve Factor: The Reserve factor is a multiplier (factor), which is adjusted up or down on an 

annual basis depending on the overall health of the UI Trust Fund balance.  The formula is 
based on maintaining a balance in the Trust Fund that can fund 18 to 24 months of benefits 
during a severe economic downturn.  The Reserve Factor is set at 1.0 when the Trust Fund 
balance falls between the Maximum and Minimum Adequate Reserve levels. If the Trust Fund 
is insolvent the reserve factor is 2.0. 

 
• Social Costs:  The Social Costs are those  Benefit Costs that cannot be charged back to specific 

employers and are added to the UI tax rate for all employers 
 

• Surcharge: A 1% surcharge is added to the overall rate if the employer owes contribution for 
the prior fiscal year 
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The only way  to estimate the potential cost of an individual 
receiving UI, is to take your maximum potential benefit costs and 
run it through this formula.  The smaller your company, the greater 
the impact one separation has because of the ratio of benefit costs 
and taxable wages 

Benefit Costs   =   Benefit Ratio  X    Reserve Factor   +   Social Cost      =   Overall Tax Rate 
Taxable Wages 

 
$950   =     .021      x      1.00      +      .003     = .037 
$45,800 

Quarterly taxable wages of $3,600  x  .024 =  $86.40 quarterly tax  



      
•  Due Dates to report quarterly wages and pay quarterly 

taxes: 
o April 30 
o July 31 
o October 31 
o January 31 

 
• Filing Methods: 

o Paper Form 33H 
o Web Filing (preferred method of filing) 
o https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer/login.aspx 
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How is a UI Claim Filed? 

• Call the UI Claims 
Center at: 
– Salt Lake/South Davis 

801-526-4400 
– Weber/North Davis 

801- 612-0877 
– Utah County  

801- 375-4067 
– Remainder of State or 

out of state (888) 848-
0688 

• Use the website at 
jobs.utah.gov 
– Click on 

“Unemployment 
Benefits” under the 
“Assistance” box 

• File New or Reopen 
Claim 

• File Weekly Claim 
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UI Claim Eligibility 

Two determinations of Eligibility: 

1. Monetary Determination 
2. Non-Monetary Determinations 
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Monetary Determination 
– Benefits paid to the claimant are based on wages paid in a “Base 

Period.” 
 

– The 5th Quarter is called the “Lag Quarter.”  The Lag Quarter is the 
unused quarter between the base period and when the claim is filed 
and is normally not used to calculate the monetary entitlement. 

Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Quarter the 
claim is filed 

– Base period:  First four of the last five completed calendar 
quarters. 

 

– Alternative base period:  If the claim cannot be calculated using 
the normal base period the most recent four completed quarters 
will be used as an alternative.  



Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA) 
– Maximum WBA for 2015 = $496 

– Minimum WBA = $87 

– The WBA is calculated by taking the highest quarterly 
earnings in the base period and dividing that number by 26, 
then subtracting $5. 

– Maximum duration = 26 weeks 

– Minimum duration = 10 weeks 

– Claimants certify eligibility every week 

19 
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Non-Monetary Determinations 

– Able and Available to work 
– Separations: 
 

• Reduction in force (lay off) 
• Voluntary Quit 
• Discharge 
 

– Suitable Work 
– Separation Payments 
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Able to Work 

– Must be physically/medically able to perform work in normal 
occupation.  
 

– Must be readily available to accept and start a full time job. 
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Available / Seeking Work 

– Claimants are required to make a work search. 
 

– Exceptions to the work search requirement are granted for 
union membership, job attachment, seasonal jobs and 
special circumstances for school/ training attendance 
related to department approved training programs. 
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Voluntary Quit 

A separation is a voluntary quit if the  claimant was the moving 
party in ending the employment relationship.   
Claimant has the burden of meeting one of two different standards: 
  

  
Good Cause-   

Adverse effect that the claimant could not control or prevent; or 
left work that is shown to have been illegal; or unsuitable new 
work. 

Equity and Good Conscience- 
Must show they acted reasonably in response to extraordinary 
circumstances; made a work search. 

Note: Employers can be charged if the employer caused the 
hardship in the job. 

 



Helpful Hints for Voluntary Quit 

– If an employee gives advanced notice to quit and an employer requires 
the person to leave before the end of the notice period, the employer 
must pay regular wage to the claimant through the notice period, or the 
resignation is considered a discharge.  

– An announcement that the claimant is looking for new work is NOT a 
resignation.  

– If a claimant quit to avoid reasonable discipline, then the separation is 
generally considered a quit.    

– If a claimant quits to avoid discharge, the separation is generally 
considered a discharge.  It is also considered a discharge if an employer 
gives the employee the option to quit to avoid certain discharge. 

– If claimant announces an intent to quit but agrees to stay on for an 
indefinite period of time at the employer’s discretion, the separation is 
still a quit even if the employer determines the date of separation.  

 24 
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Discharge 
A Separation is considered discharge when the employer is the moving party 
causing the separation.  Employers have the burden of proving the following 
elements to show just cause to deny benefits for discharge: 

Culpability- Conduct must be serious: 
– length of employment, isolated nature of incident, and final incident is 

taken into consideration. 
– Act of discharge needs to be within close proximity of the final incident, 

or else explanation is needed for the delay. 
 
Knowledge- Claimant must know the employer’s expectations: 

– Employer policies and prior warnings can be used to show knowledge 
 
– Universal standard of conduct taken into consideration:  violence, theft, 

fraud, etc.  
Control- Claimant must have control to prevent discharge 

– Must be shown that the claimant had the skills and ability to do the job. 
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Discharge for a Crime 

 
– The criminal act was in connection to work. 
– The criminal act was an act of dishonesty (theft) constituting a 

felony or class A misdemeanor. 
– The claimant admitted to the act or was established by court 

conviction. 

In Utah, being discharged for crime will result in a mandatory 52 
week disqualification for the claimant and removal of the 
impacted employers' wages from the monetary calculation of 
Unemployment Benefits.  In order to impose a discharge for 
crime decision it must be shown: 

Note:  If the elements of discharge for crime are not met the 
separation will still be adjudicated using the standard discharge 
elements explained earlier. 



Helpful hints for Discharge 

– If an employee resigns but later attempts to rescind and the 
employer refuses to allow the employee to return, the 
department looks at whether the employer’s actions were 
reasonable in considering the separation a quit or discharge. 
(i.e. already hired a replacement, actions taken by the 
employer are now impractical to reverse). 
 

– If an employee quits in lieu of a discharge, the separation is 
still a discharge. 
 

– If you wait too long after the final incident occurred to 
discharge a claimant, it is difficult to show the employer is 
harmed and just cause may not be established. 

      Continued 27 



Helpful Hints for Discharge 

 
– If you are choosing to lay employees off  as part of a reduction 

in workforce and choose poor performers to lay off the 
separation is still considered a reduction of force. 

  
– In a discharge situation, be sure the employee understands they 

are being fired. Using vague terminology such as “we are 
letting you go,” or “it’s not working out,” leaves the claimant 
unsure about the reason for separation. 
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Recommended Steps to Take 
Prior to Separation  

– Screen applicants with tests of skill prior to hiring them.   
 

– Monitor new employees job performance and keep accurate 
notes. 
 

– Be consistent in disciplinary actions.  
 

– Develop clear statements of policy. 
 

– Give every employee a copy of policy and get employee’s 
signature. 

29 
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Suitable Work 

– Wages 
– Location of work 
– Prior experience and skill 
– Working conditions, including hours of work 
– Risk to health and safety or physical capacity 

A claimant must accept an offer of suitable new work.  However, 
they do not have to accept an offer of work that is not suitable.  
Things to consider regarding suitable work: 
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Separation Payments 
Types of separation pay 

– Vacation 
– Severance 
– Payments for remaining on the job 

 

UI benefits are denied for the period of time the separation 
payment covers 
 
Separation payments can be allocated out to future quarters to 
be use as base period wages 



Part-Time Employees 
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– Claimants who continue to work part time may be 

entitled to UI benefits 
– The employer may be relieved of charges if the 

employee's hours have not been reduced 
– Employers are not eligible for relief of charges for 

employees working "on call" 



Reimbursable Employers 

 
– Reimbursable employers are never eligible for relief of 

charges.  However, wages may be excluded from the claim in 
certain situations.  
 

– Claimants are only denied benefits until they have earned 6 
times their weekly benefit amount in new covered 
employment. 
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      Non-Compliance 

Report claimant’s non-compliance.  Sometimes referred to 
as “fraud”. 

 
– Employer line: 801-526-4400 or 888-848-0688, choose 

option 4. 
 

– Online: jobs.utah.gov select “Report Fraud” 
 

– Fax the information to 801-526-9800 or 801-526-4402. 
 

– Include as much information as possible about the claimant 
and the potential activity that would be disqualifying. 

 



 
Non Compliance or Fraud 

Examples: 
– Failure to report work or earnings 
– Inability to work 
– Failure to look for or apply for work 
– Refusing a job offer 
– Working “under the table”  
– Failure to report a separation 
– Self employment/Contract Work 

35 



Requests for Information 

It is critical that employers respond to all requests for information 
as quickly as possible.  Some needed information may include: 

36 

– Reason for separation, include specific details 
– Information on separation pay, retirement, availability 
– Return follow-up phone calls for rebuttal clarification 
– Requests for weekly earnings verification (not by pay period) 
– Verification of  application for work  
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We can’t do it without YOU! 

Respond to requests for information 
You can do this on line by following the 

instructions on the Request for 
Separation Information, by fax or mail, 
or returning phone calls 
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           Disagree with a Decision? 
         File an Appeal 

– File timely appeal (generally 15 calendar days) 
– Call at least 24 hours in advance of hearing date/time to confirm 

participation. 
– Person with FIRST HAND factual information should 

participate. 
– Review documents prior to hearing and have them for the 

hearing.  If you have additional documentation (laws or regulations of 
industry, warnings, separation notices) provide it to all parties prior to the 
hearing. 

– Only one hearing – make sure all information presented. 
– Not every discharge results in a denial of benefits.  An ALJ’s job is 

to determine whether or not a client qualifies for UI, not whether an employer 
had a good reason for discharging an employee.   

 



Summary of Presentation   

– Claimants must have sufficient wage credits to be monetarily 
eligible for UI benefits. 

– Claimants must meet all non-monetary requirements in order 
to receive UI benefits. 

– Employers need to take an active role in responding to notices 
and monitoring their employment practices to minimize their 
future unemployment tax rates. 

– DWS welcomes any suggestions for improving our services to 
employers or job seekers. 
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Employer Web Page 1 
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Employer Web Page 2 
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Contact Information 

UI Benefits  
– Claim Filing 
– Separation Requests 
– Report Fraud 

 
• Employer Line: 

801-526-4400 or 888-848-
0688, choose option 4 

• Chat Line available: 
jobs.utah.gov 

• For claimants to file:  
801-526-4400  or 
jobs.utah.gov 

 
 
 

UI Contributions  
– Quarterly Tax Filing 
– Tax Rates 
– Subject Wages 
– New Hire Reporting 

 
• Employer Accounts: 

801-526-9235 
• Chat Line available: 

jobs.utah.gov 
• Quarterly Tax Filing:  

jobs.utah.gov 
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