Landlord Housing Assistance Program (LHAP)

Program Guidance and Rules

Updated 1.22.2021

The Housing Assistance Program has been funded by CARES Act Funds awarded to the Utah Legislature and distributed to the Utah Housing and Community Development Division. This program is designed to assist landlords in applying on behalf of their tenants in obtaining or retaining rental housing who have been negatively impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.

General Program Rules

Landlord Assistance

- 1. Rental Assistance will be \$2,000 or less per month. Landlord MUST apply on behalf of tenant(s).
- 2. Rent payments will go directly to landlords.
- 3. No rental assistance will be issued after February 28, 2021 or when funds are exhausted, whichever comes first.
- 4. Landlords are to apply for this funding through WebGrants 3.
- 5. Property owner or tenant may not receive a duplication of benefit from local, state or federal resources. Tenants must disclose whether they have received other local (including churches, Red Cross, etc.), state and federal rental assistance. Property owners who receive rent from tenant or another assistance provider for the same unit and month will be required to repay funds to the State of Utah.
- 6. 12-month limit, with additional three (3) months only if necessary to ensure housing stability for a household, effective January 2021.
- 7. Three (3) month limit for future rents at a time.
 - a. If arrears are owed, they can be paid along with the three months future rent, as long as it does not exceed 12 months. Arrears allowed back to March 13, 2020. (If rent was due before March 13, 2020, it is not eligible).
 - b. Eligible utilities must be a flat rate amount billed monthly listed on the lease. If the amount changes monthly based on usage it is not eligible.

Applicant Eligibility

- 1. Eligibility:
 - a. Applicants must have a combined gross income at or below 80% AMI; and
 - b. Has qualified for unemployment benefits **OR** can attest in writing that they have experienced a reduction in household income, incurred significant costs, or experienced other financial hardship due, directly or indirectly, to the pandemic; **AND**
 - c. Can demonstrate a risk of experiencing homelessness or housing instability (i.e., past due utility or rent notice or eviction notice, unsafe or unhealthy living conditions)
- 2. Priority to the following:
 - a. Households at 50% AMI and below; or
- b. One (1) or more individuals within the household are unemployed as of the date of the application for assistance and have not been employed for the 90-day period preceding such date.

Property Eligibility

1. Property must be located in the State of Utah

Eligible Uses of Funds

Expenses from March 13, 2020 – February 28, 2021 (prior balances before March 13, 2020 are not eligible).

- 1. Monthly Rent including any amounts owed under the lease (i.e. taxes, insurance, utilities) as stated on the lease.
- 2. Late fees are eligible, all other fees MUST be waived (i.e. service and eviction of notice fees).
- 3. Arrears (payments made for rental assistance over 30 days past due) is allowable. Covers monthly rent in arrears as stated on the lease.

Income Determination

- 1. Income will be determined by the Self-Declaration Income Form (refer to the 80% AMI chart).
- 2. Income may be determined by using either:
 - a. Household's income for calendar year 2020; or
 - b. Household's monthly income at time of application
 - i. If monthly income is used, household's income must be re-determined after each 3-month period.

Required Documentation

- 1. W-9 (landlord only)
- 2. LHAP application (for each household/unit)
 - a. The primary applicant needs to be a tenant listed on the lease.
- 3. Lease (full lease signed by the landlord/tenant)
- 4. Ledger Required
 - a. If the claim amount is more than the rent amount stated on the lease and if claiming arrears
 - b. If amounts on the lease do not match the ledger we need updated documents (i.e. new lease, rent increase document, month to month, fees the tenant is not currently paying), or an explanation in writing.
- 5. Utility Statement (if applicable) If no utility statement, please highlight the utilities on the ledger provided.
 - a. If including future utilities must be a flat rate amount billed monthly listed on the lease. If the amount changes monthly based on usage it is not eligible.
- 6. Notification of Increase in Rent
 - a. If the amount has increased during the lease, provide proper documentation.
- 7. Document to prove one more individuals in the household are at risk of experiencing homelessness or housing instability. (i.e. past due utilities, rent eviction or notice,).
- 8. Document to prove that one or more individuals qualified for unemployment benefits from March 13, 2020 to time of application.
- 9. Proof of prior two (2) months of income at time of application (upload under Other in WebGrants Attachments).

Examples of verification include but are not limited to the following:

- a. Unemployment statement
- b. Check stubs (two months prior to application)
- c. Documentation from Employer
- d. W-2
- e. 1040 Form
- f. Zero income
 - i. Statement from most recent employer.
 - ii. Provide details on the Income Verification form.

Waivers

Waivers to policy guidelines and rules can be staffed and granted by HCD Program Specialists for extenuating circumstances.

State Contact

sanobijohnson@utah.gov

FAQs

- 1. How do I assist a person who wants to apply for Unemployment benefits?

 Regarding Unemployment Insurance (UI) and Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA). Applicants should:
- (1) Use the "Am I eligible link https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/home/Home/UiEligible to assess whether or not they will be able to receive UI benefits. If that link indicates they will not receive UI they should apply for PUA.
- 2. Eligibility Benefits
- (1) Apply for and manage benefits link: https://jobs.utah.gov/eligibility/index.html
- (2) Apply for weatherization and/or utility benefits: https://jobs.utah.gov/housing/scso/wap/index.html

How to Apply

To apply for the Landlord Housing Assistance Program do the following:

- 1. Click https://webgrants.utah.gov/index.do and select Register Here
- 2. Program Interested in Housing Assistance Program
- 3. When registering please make sure to select 'YES" under Organization Information and add your management company or apartment complex name OR landlord name if you do not have an Organization Name. If you do not know which Organization Type you fall under please select Other. Only the red asterisk fields are required.
- 4. Once registration is complete, you will receive a login and password.
- 5. Log into WebGrants3 and select Funding Opportunities
- 6. Select LHAP 2021
- 7. Start a New Application.
- 8. Project Title: Property Name OR Landlord Name AND Tenant Name
- 9. Select Go to Application Forms
- 10. Under Application Forms, select LHAP Application
- 11. EDIT, enter in application information, SAVE, stay on this page and go to next step,
- 12. Select ADD to enter each tenant's claim information
- 13. Select Go to Application Forms
- 14. Select Attachments and upload the following documents to the application:
 - 1. LHAP Tenant Application for Assistance (for each household/unit)
 - 2. Lease
 - 3. Ledger Required
 - 1. If the claim amount is more than the rent amount stated on the lease and if claiming arrears
 - 2. If amounts on the lease do not match the ledger we need updated documents (i.e. new lease, rent increase document, month to month, fees the tenant is not currently paying), or an explanation in writing.
 - 4. Utility Statement (if applicable) If no utility statement, please highlight the utilities on the ledger provided.
 - 1. Future utilities must be a flat rate amount billed monthly listed on the lease. If the amount changes monthly based on usage it is not eligible.
 - 5. Notification of Increase in Rent

- 1. If the amount has increased during the lease, provide proper documentation.
- 6. W-9 (landlord only)
- 15. Go to Application Forms and click **SUBMIT**