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Purpose of Unemployment 
Compensation Fund 

Employers contribute to the Utah Unemployment 
Compensation Fund to pay benefits to workers who 
become unemployed through no fault of their own.  
The contribution rate formulas are designed to build 

up the fund during a strong economy to pay increases 
in benefits when the economy slows. 
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Utah New Hire Reporting 
Requirements 

 

 Must Report within 20 Days of 1st day worked or within 
60 days of a rehire: 

– Employee SSN 

– Employee Name 

– Employee Address 

– Date of Hire 

– Employer FEIN 

– Employer Name 

– Employer Address 

 Optional information: 

– Employee Date of birth 

 



Types of Employers 

 A Contributory employer pays a quarterly unemployment 
insurance contribution (tax).  

 

 A Reimbursable employer does not pay a quarterly 
contribution to the Trust Fund.  
 Only governmental or non-profit 501(c)(3) entities can opt to be reimbursable 

 



Types of Employers 
- continued - 

 A Successor employer is one that acquires an existing 
business and meets the required conditions prescribed 
by rule. 

 The Predecessor is the employing unit which last 
operated the business and no longer is an employer in 
Utah. 

 



Types of Employers 
Merger (Inheritance Transfer) 

 

 In a Merger (Inheritance Transfer) an existing business 
acquires another existing business. 

 The acquired company’s unemployment insurance 
account is closed, and the history of its taxable wages and 
benefit costs are transferred to the surviving company’s 
unemployment insurance account. 

 The combined history of both the acquired company and 
the surviving company are used to calculate the 
contribution rate 



Types of Employers 
Reimbursable Employers 

 

 Reimbursable employers are never eligible for relief of charges.  

However, wages may be excluded from the claim in certain 

situations 

 Reimbursable employers do not pay a quarterly contribution to 

the Trust Fund on taxable wages 

 A Reimbursable employer’s liability is limited to the amount of 

benefits paid to the claimant 

 Note:  Reimbursable employers may be required to pay interest, 

penalty and collection costs on past due amounts 

 



 
Who Is Subject To The 

Employment Security Act? 

 Employed one or more individuals for some portion of a day during a 
calendar year 

 Acquired your business from an employer subject to the Act 

 All non-profits without 501(c)(3) classification are subject if employ 
one or more individuals for some portion of a day during a calendar 
year 

 Agriculture –  ten (10) or more employees in 20 weeks OR $20,000 in 
a qtr. 

 Wage of $1,000 or more in calendar qtr. for domestic employee 

 Corporation and pay remuneration to corporate officers 

 Employer subject to FUTA 



Exemptions From Coverage 
Sole Proprietor/Partner  

 Services performed by an individual owner 
(proprietor) and his/her: 

– Spouse 

– Parent(s) 

– Minor child or children (under age 21) 

 Services performed by a general partner: 

– A worker who bears an exempt relationship to all 
partners (a minor child in a husband and wife 
partnership, for example), would also be exempt 

 This applies to partnership entities not to LLC’s 

 



Exemptions from Coverage 
LLC 

 

 

 Services performed by a member of Limited Liability 
Company (LLC), who are filing with the IRS as a sole 
proprietorship or a partnership 

– If filing an 1120S Federal Corporate return 

– All member’s wages are subject to UI coverage and contributions 

– There is no family exemption for an LLC 

 

 

 



Exemptions From Coverage 
Independent Contractors  

 Services performed by an individual are considered to be 
employment subject to UI unless the following elements 
are clearly demonstrated: 

– Customarily engaged in an independently established trade 
occupation, profession, or business of the same nature as 
that involved in the contract of hire for services; and 

– The individual has been and will continue to be free from 
control or direction over the means of performance of those 
services, both under the individuals’ contract of hire and in 
fact. 



Exemptions From Coverage 
Salesperson  

 

 

 Salespersons: 

– Who do not work on the 
employer’s premises 

– Are free from the employer’s 
control and direction 

– Are paid solely by way of 
commission 

 

 

 



What Are Considered Wages? 

 

Wages as defined by section 
3306(b), internal revenue code 
of 1986.   

 



2015 FUTA Credits 

 Annual Federal Unemployment Tax (FUTA, Form 940) 
return is due January 31st for the prior calendar year. 

– If your state unemployment insurance is paid by January 31st, then 
you can receive up to a 90% credit against your FUTA tax 

– FUTA  rate     -     Credit     =    Final FUTA rate 

– Example: 

     6% FUTA tax – 5.4% credit for timely payment of state 

      unemployment insurance = .6% final FUTA tax 



Unemployment Insurance Tax 
Rate Notice 

 

 

 Rate notices will be mailed out in late December for the 
following calendar year 

 Employers have the right to appeal their rate 
determination within 30 days of notification 



New Employer Industry Rate 

 For 2017, the new Employer Contribution rate is based on 
a 2 year industry average 

– Industry Rate – ranges between 1.1% and 7.2% 

– Per Statute construction contractors  who have operated in 
another state before coming to Utah will receive the 
maximum rate of  7.2% 



Calculating Experience Tax Rates 

 

 New employers are assigned a 
rate based upon average rates 
of all employers in their 
respective industries 

 An “earned” rate is based upon 
payroll and is assigned January 1 
of the year following the first full 
fiscal year (July 1 – June 30) 



Formula for Calculating 
Experience Tax Rates 

 

 Benefit Costs:  Unemployment benefits paid to former employees 
that are charged to the employers account 

 Taxable Wages: The taxable portion of each employees wages (up 
to $33,100 for 2017). 

– Total wages are reported, but the amount in excess of the taxable 
wage base is not taxed 

 The Benefit Ratio: (Benefit Costs/Taxable wages) is calculated on 
the last 4 fiscal years. 

– A fiscal year is July 1 through June 30 

 

 

 

 

 



Formula for Calculating Experience 
Tax Rates -continued- 

 Reserve Factor: The Reserve factor is a multiplier 
(factor), which is adjusted up or down on an annual 
basis depending on the overall health of the UI Trust 
Fund balance 

 Social Costs:  The Social Costs are those  Benefit Costs 
that cannot be charged back to specific employers and 
are added to the UI tax rate for all employers 

 Surcharge: A 1% surcharge is added to the overall rate if 
the employer owes contribution for the prior fiscal year 
 

 

 

 



Example Formulas 

 
 

 

Quarterly taxable wage  $4,550  x  0.034  =  
$154.70  (quarterly tax) 

 

Benefit Costs 

 

Total Taxable Wages 
X Reserve Factor + Social Tax = Overall Contribution Rate 

$1,550 

 

$50,000 
X .031 + .003 = .034 



Due Dates and Filing Methods 
 

 Due Dates to report quarterly wages and pay quarterly 
taxes: 

– April 30 

– July 31 

– October 31 

– January 31 

 

 Filing Methods: 

– Web Filing (preferred method of filing) 

https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer/login.aspx 

– Paper Form 33H 

 

 

 

 

https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer/login.aspx
https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer/login.aspx
https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer/login.aspx


Online Filing of Quarterly Report 

Online filing is the 
easiest (and preferred) 
method for filing 
quarterly reports 



Unemployment Insurance  
Eligibility 

 

 Two determinations of Eligibility: 

 Monetary Determination 

 Non-Monetary Determinations 

 

 

 



How is a UI Claim Filed? 

 Use the website at jobs.utah.gov (preferred) 

 

 Call the UI Claims Center at: 
– Salt Lake/South Davis 

(801) 526-4400 

– Weber/North Davis 

(801) 612-0877 

– Utah County 

 (801) 375-4067 

– Remainder of State or out of state 

(888) 848-0688 

 

 



Eligibility for UI Benefits 
Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA) 

 

 Maximum WBA for 2017 = $524 

 Minimum WBA = $27 

 Maximum duration = 26 weeks 

 Minimum duration = 10 weeks 

 Claimants certify eligibility every 
week 



Eligibility for UI Benefits 
Non-Monetary Determinations 

 Able and Available to work 

 Separations: 

– Reduction in force  

– Voluntary Quit 

– Discharge 

 

 Suitable Work 

 Separation Payments 



Eligibility for UI Benefits 
Able to Work 

 

 

 Must be physically and 
mentally able to perform 
work in normal occupation 

 Must be readily available to 
accept and start a full time 
job 

 



Eligibility for UI Benefits 
Available for and Seeking Work 

 Claimants are required to make an active work search 
of at least four (4) NEW contacts each week 

 Exceptions may be granted to the work search 
requirement for: 

– Attached Union Members 

– Job Attached (will begin employment within 3 weeks 

– Special circumstances for school/ training attendance 
related to department approved training programs 

 



Eligibility for UI Benefits 
Voluntary Quit 

 Voluntary quit is if the  employee was the 

moving party in ending the employment 

relationship 

 Employee (claimant) has the burden of 

meeting one of two different standards: 

 Good Cause 

 Equity and Good Conscience 

 



 
 

Eligibility for UI Benefits 
Discharge 

 

 

 A Separation is considered 

discharge when: 

– The employer is the moving 
party causing the separation 

– Employers have the burden of 
proving the following elements  

– Culpability 

– Knowledge 

– Control 

 



Eligibility for UI Benefits 
Discharge for a Crime 

In Utah, being discharged for crime will result in a mandatory 

52 week disqualification for the claimant and removal of the 

impacted employers' wages from the monetary calculation of 

Unemployment Benefits.   

 



Eligibility for UI Benefits 
Suitable Work 

 

 Things to consider regarding 

suitable work: 

– Wages 

– Location of work 

– Prior experience and skill 

– Working conditions, including 
hours of work 

 

 



Eligibility for UI Benefits 
Part-Time Employees 

 

 Claimants who continue to work 

part-time may be entitled to 

Unemployment Insurance benefits 

 Wages earned must be reported 

every week 

 The employer may be relieved of 

charges if the employee's hours have 

not been reduced 

 Employers are not eligible for relief 

of charges for employees working 

"on call" 



Separation Payments 
 

 Types of separation pay 

– Vacation 

– Severance 

– Payments for remaining on the job 

 



      Non-Compliance 

 Report claimant’s non-compliance.  Sometimes referred to 
as “fraud” 

– Online: jobs.utah.gov select “Report Fraud” 

– Employer line: 801-526-4400 or 888-848-0688, option 4 

– Fax the information to 801-526-9800 or 801-526-4402 

– Include as much information as possible about the claimant 
and the potential activity that would be disqualifying 

 



 
Non Compliance or Fraud 

Examples: 

 Failure to report work or earnings 

 Identity theft 

 Inability to work 

 Failure to look for or apply for work 

 Refusing a job offer 

 Working “under the table”  

 Failure to report a separation 

 Self employment/Contract work 



Recommendations for Controlling Costs 
Steps to Take Prior to Separation  

 Hire Right!  (check references) 

 Give employee job description and outline 

expectations 

 Develop clear statements of policy 

 Monitor employee performance  

 Discuss issues/concerns when they occur 

 Keep accurate notes 

 Be consistent in disciplinary actions  



Recommendations for Controlling Costs 
Helpful hints for Discharge 

 
 Employee resigns, rescinds and 

employer refuses 

 Employee quits in lieu of discharge 

 Employer waits to discharge 

 Employer has ROF and poor 

performers go first 

 When firing, don’t “beat around 

the bush” 

 

 



            

Recommendations for Controlling Costs 
Disagree with a Decision? 

File an Appeal 

 File timely appeal  

 Call in advance of hearing 

 Invite persons with first hand 
knowledge to participate 

 Provide documents to all parties in 
advance 

 There will be only one hearing 

 Role of the ALJ 

 



Recommendations for Controlling Costs 
Requests for Information 

It is critical that employers respond to all requests for 

information as quickly as possible 

 

 



Employer Web Page 1 



Employer Web Page 2 



Contact Information 

 UI Benefits  

• Claim Filing 

http://www.jobs.utah.gov/ui 

• Separation Requests 

• Report Fraud 

801-526-4400 or 

888-848-0688, opt. 4 

http://jobs.utah.gov/ui/Fraud/uifraud 

 

 

 UI Contributions  

• Quarterly Tax Filing 

https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/em

ployer/employerhome.aspxj

obs.utah.gov  

• Tax Rates 

• Subject Wages 

• New Hire Reporting: 

       801-526-9235 

http://www.jobs.utah.gov/ui
http://www.jobs.utah.gov/ui
http://www.jobs.utah.gov/ui
https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer/employerhome.aspxjobs.utah.gov
https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer/employerhome.aspxjobs.utah.gov
https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer/employerhome.aspxjobs.utah.gov
https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer/employerhome.aspxjobs.utah.gov

