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Tax Credits Available for Employers

This edition of the Employer Advisor is devoted to tax credits available to Utah employers.
Some of the credits apply to federal taxes while others apply to state taxes. Employers who hire
recently discharged veterans are simultaneously eligible for federal and state tax credits. Read
on to learn how these tax credits can help you as an employer achieve your financial goals.

Work Opportunity Tax Credit
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A. s an employer, you incur training
costs for each new hire. The Work

Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC) program
can help you reduce these expenses. This
program provides tax credits to employers
who hire individuals from specific target
groups. There is no limit to the number of
tax credits that you may receive on your
annual federal income tax.

How much can WOTC reduce your federal
income tax? The credit offers up to $2,400
for each new employee who qualifies for
most of the target groups. New employees
who could qualify for $2,400 include Food
Stamp (aka SNAP) recipients, ex-felons,
and Vocational Rehabilitation referred

individuals.

The following groups are eligible to receive
higher credits:

* $4,800 for each disabled veteran
employee hired within one year of leaving
service.

* $5,600 for each new veteran
unemployed for at least six months.

* $9,000 over a two-year period for
each long-term family assistance
recipient.

* $9,600 for each disabled veteran
unemployed for six months.

How do you apply? Before claiming the
WOTC on your federal tax return, you
must apply for, and receive approval

from, the Utah Department of Workforce
Services. The approval states that your
new employee is a member of a WOTC
target group. You may mail, hand-deliver
or electronically submit the required forms
and documentation. The forms must be
postmarked or transmitted no later than 28
days from the new employee’s start date.

Please note that the WOTC program is
currently awaiting reauthorization for 2015.
You should still submit all documentation
within the 28-day time period.

The required forms and the contact names
and numbers for Utah WOTC program are
found at jobs.utah.gov/employer/business/
wotc.html.



http://151.196.108.21/ocse/
http://jobs.utah.gov/employer/business/wotc.html
http://jobs.utah.gov/employer/business/wotc.html
http://jobs.utah.gov/wi/pubs/localinsights/current/index.html

New Homeless Tax Credit
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A_ re you aware of a new
state income tax credit for

employers who hire homeless
individuals? In 2014, the Utah
Legislature allocated $100,000
for a Homeless Tax Credit. To
qualify, new employees must
reside in a permanent housing
facility, a permanent supportive
facility, or a transitional facility.
Examples of these facilities
include The Road Home and

The Homeless Tax Credit
program offers an employer a
$2,000 state income tax credit
for each new employee. To
qualify, an employer must first
pay the new employee $4,000
in wages within two calendar
quarters after the quarter in
which the employee was hired.

To apply, the employer submits an
application to the Department of
Workforce Services for each new

Services will mail a participant
agreement to the employer to
sign and return. After paying the
employee $4,000 in wages and
submitting the documentation,
the employer will receive a
Workforce Services issued
certification to use when filing its
state tax return.

The application and Workforce
Services contact names and

Palmer Court in Salt Lake City
and St. Anne’s Shelter in Ogden.

qualified employee. Workforce

numbers are available at jobs.utah.
gov/emplover/business/htc.html.

® © 06 06 06 0 0 06 0 06 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 O O 0 0 O O O O O O O O 0 O 0O O O O 0 O O 0 O O 0 O O 0 O O 0 0 0O 0O 0 0 0 00

'§? Utah Veteran Employment Tax Credit
Why Hiring Eligible Veterans is Advantageous

An employer who hires an eligible veteran may
receive an employment tax credit from the Utah
State Tax Commission. For each veteran hired, the tax
credit for the first year begins at $200 a month not to
exceed $2,400 per year and increases to $400 a month
not to exceed $4,800 per year for the second year.

The eligibility criteria for the Utah tax credit include
the following four required items:

1. Recently deployed veteran who:

a. Mobilized to federal military service in an active
or reserve component of the U.S. Armed Forces.

b. Received honorable or general discharge within
two years prior to the employment start date.

2. Must be employed on or after Jan. 1, 2012.

3. Collecting, or eligible to collect, Unemployment
Insurance (UI) benefits or exhausted Ul benefits
within the past two years.

4. Works at least 35 hours per week for not less than
45 out of the past 52 weeks after the employment
start date.

If you have a veteran employee meeting these criteria,
send the veteran’s DD214 with a release request that
includes the veteran’s name, social security number,

date of birth, signature and the employer’s return
information to this address:

Department of Workforce Services
Unemployment Insurance

140 East 300 South

P. O. Box 45288

Salt Lake City, Utah 84145-0288

If the veteran meets the eligibility criteria, UI will
mail a letter to you certifying that the veteran meets
the requirements of Utah Code Section 59-10-1031(2)
(). Please note that the return correspondence

will include the DD214. This letter should be used
when filing for the Veteran Employment Tax Credit
on Utah State Tax forms and retained in your tax
records to support the credit if audited by the Tax
Commission. Related information to save with the
letter includes taxpayer identification number, the
veteran’s last known address, employment start date,
and documentation from the military service unit to
establish the status of a recently deployed veteran.

If questions arise, please call Unemployment
Insurance Contributions at 801-526-9235 or
1-800-222-2857. If you know your party's extension
select 9 to enter the number. If not choose one of the
available options.
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