DEePARTMENT OF WORKFORCE SERVICES

Controlling
Unemployment
Tax
Costs




jobs.utah.gov

MISSION

We strengthen Utah’s economy by
supporting the economic stability and
quality of our workforce.

Equal Opportunity Employer/Program
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to
individuals with disabilities by calling (801) 526-9240.
Individuals with speech and/or hearing impairments may
call the Relay Utah by dialing 711. Spanish Relay Utah:
1-888-346-3162.



here are many ways to control your unem-
ployment tax costs. This guide provides the
following tips to keep your costs as low as

possible:

* Review your personnel practices

* Monitor benefit notices and charges

* File reports timely

* Pay taxes timely

* File proper wage lists

* Don’t misclassify workers

First, it is important to understand your unemploy-

ment tax rate computation.

Your overall tax rate is calculated as follows:

Benefit Costs
Total Taxable
Wages

X Reserve + Social = Overall
Factor Tax Tax Rate

TIP: Make every effort to keep benefit costs
to a minimum.



REVIEW YOUR PERSONNEL
PRACTICES

* Screen applicants to be sure they are properly
suited for the work.

* Have clear written statements of policy and rules
concerning employee conduct at work.

* Monitor new employees’ progress carefully.

* Keep accurate records of attendance, tardiness, and
all warnings given.

¢ Do not condone violations of rules. Be consistent
in disciplinary actions.

¢ Conduct exit interviews and document the reason
for separation.

MONITOR BENEFIT NOTICES AND
CHARGES

* Be specific in providing separation explanations to
this Department.

e Carefully read and reply to all notices concerning
benefit claims and requests for information.

* Report vacation, separation, retirement, or pension
payments.



* Mail all appeals within the period provided by law.

* Attend all appeal hearings and present factual
information and evidence.

* Offer job openings to laid-off employees or contact
other employers to help find work for them.

FILE REPORTS TIMELY

Employer’s Unemployment Tax Reports which are
not filed timely are subject to a late filing penalty:

# of Days Late Penalty
0-15 5% of the tax due
16-30 10% of the tax due
31-45 15% of the tax due
46-60 20% of the tax due
Over 60 days 25% of the tax due

The minimum penalty is $25.00

TIP: Make every effort to pay the taxes
when they are due. If you do not
have the money, file the report timely
without payment and include a
proposed payment schedule. You will
not be assessed the filing penalty if the
report is received timely.



PAY TAXES TIMELY

Unemployment taxes that are not paid timely are
assessed interest at the rate of 1% per month. If
payment or satisfactory payment arrangements are
not made after the first billing notice is received, an
additional payment penalty of 5% is assessed. There
is also a 1% surcharge added to your unemployment
tax rate if any contributions are owing for the past
fiscal year, July 1 through June 30.

TIP: Make every effort to pay your
unemployment taxes when they are
due. If you cannot do so, promptly
contact our Department and make
payment arrangements. You will
still be charged interest on the
unpaid balance, but you will not be
charged the payment penalty and we
generally will not file a lien if payment
arrangements are current.

ANOTHER REASON TO PAY TAXES
TIMELY

You receive a 5.4% credit against your Federal
unemployment tax of 6.2% if you pay all your state
taxes by January 31. Payments made after that date



only receive 90% of the credit. We are required by
law to provide the IRS with an electronic record of
all employer payments. They compare your Federal
940 Unemployment Tax Report against that tape. If
payments are not shown as timely, the IRS generates
an additional assessment, plus interest and penalty.

TIP: Review your state reports before
preparing your Federal 940 report to
make certain all state taxes were paid
by January 31.

FILE PROPER WAGE LISTS

Your quarterly employee wage lists must be filed

on a Department approved form and in the proper
format. Failure to do so may result in the assessment
of a $50.00 wage list penalty.

TIP: Use the Department paper form 33H, or
better yet, file electronically by dis-
kette, CD or the Internet. The preferred
magnetic file version is the MMDRF
file format. Please contact us at (801)
526-9235 or 1-800-222-2857 if questions
arise.



J DON'T MISCLASSIFY WORKERS

Individuals may be classified as independent con-
tractors and excluded from unemployment tax cover-
age if they meet two criteria:

1. The individual is customarily engaged in an
independently established trade, occupation,
profession, or business of the same nature as that
involved in the contract of hire for services.

2. The individual has been and will continue to be
free from your control or direction.

TIP: Make certain that workers not on your
payroll are independently established
in their own business. A simple test
is to ask one question: “what will
their status be when they are finished
working for you?” If the answer is
unemployed, that’s a good indication
that they are not independently
established.



P lease call the following numbers if you have
unemployment benefit or tax questions:

* Benefit Charges (801) 526-9350

* New Employer Registration (801) 526-9235

* Quarterly Contribution Reports (801) 526-9235

* Quarterly Wage Lists 5 (801) 26-9235

e Collections (801) 526-9235

* In-state employers may use our toll free number:
1-800-222-2857.
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