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Pj}»}' Utah New Hire Reporting
Requirements

e Must Report within 20 Days of 1st day worked or within
60 days of a rehire:

— Employee SSN
Employee Name
Employee Address
Employer FEIN
Employer Name
Employer Address
Date of hire

o Optional information:
— Employee Date of birth
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“’M‘* Types of Employers

A Contributory employer pays a quarterly
unemployment insurance contribution (tax). This
contribution goes into the Trust Fund (Reserve) and Is
used to pay unemployment insurance benefits

A Reimbursable employer does not pay a quarterly
contribution to the Trust Fund. They reimburse the
Trust Fund for any unemployment insurance benefits
paid to their former employees. Only governmental or
non-profit 501(c)(3) entities can opt to be reimbursable

Continued



gf,:-,f; Types of Employers

A Successor employer is one that acquires an existing business and
meets the required conditions prescribed by rule. The predecessor is
the employing unit which last operated the business and no longer is
an employer in Utah. The successor retains the account number,
changing the first and last digits to show succession. The
predecessor's rate is transferred to the successor and future rates are
calculated using wage and benefit history of both employers

In a Merger (Inheritance Transfer) an existing business acquires
another existing business. The acquired company’s unemployment
Insurance account is closed, and the history of its taxable wages and
benefit costs are transferred to the surviving company’s
unemployment insurance account. The combined history of both the
acquired company and the surviving company are used to calculate
the contribution rate
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Who Is Subject To The
Employment Security Act?

e You are subject if you meet the following requirements,
Including but not limited to:
Paid wages of $1 or more during a calendar quarter

Acquired your business from an employer who was subject to
this Act

Non-profit organization 501c(3) with 4 or more employees in 20
different weeks during a calendar year

Employ agricultural workers and pay wages of $20,000/quarter
OR employ 10 or more employees in 20 weeks

Pay wages of $1,000 or more in a calendar quarter to a domestic
(household) employee

Corporation and pay remuneration to corporate officers
Employer subject to FUTA
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’7 What Common Employment Is
| Exempt From Coverage?

» Services performed by an individual owner (proprietor) and the
owner’s spouse, owners parent(s) or minor children (under age 21)

Services performed by a general partner. A worker who bears an
exempt relationship to all partners (a minor child in a husband and
wife partnership, for example), would also be exempt

]1 \ \ ‘ \ ‘I ". l' ‘l h \' HI' l\'

Services performed by a member of limited liability company
(LLC), who are filing with the IRS as a sole proprietorship or a
partnership. If filing an 1120S Federal Corporate return, then all
member’s wages are subject to Ul coverage and contributions.
(There is no family exemption for an LLC)
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What Common Employment
¢ |Is Exempt From Coverage?

L R AT A R O

* Independent contractors are excluded from coverage if
both A and B are met:

\

— A. The individual is customarily engaged in an independently
established trade, occupation, profession, or business of the
same nature as that involved in the contract of hire for
services;

I

AND

B. The individual has been and will continue to be free from
control or direction over the means of performance of those

services, both under the individuals’ contract of hire and in
fact.
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“"?fWhat Common Employment
Is Exempt From Coverage?

LR L L R

o Salespersons:

\

I

— Who do not work on the employer’s premises, and
— Are free from the employer’s control and direction, and

— Are paid solely by way of commission

Note: Except Traveling or City Salesman are subject.
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What Are Wages ?

Wages as currently defined by section 3306(b),
Internal Revenue Code of 1986

— Wages are payments for services rendered and include:

(0]

O 0O 0O o o o o o

Hourly wages, salaries, and commissions

Meals, lodging and other payments in Kind

Tips and gratuities

Remuneration for services of an employee with equipment
Vacation pay and sick pay

Separation or dismissal pay

Bonuses and gifts

Payments in stock

Employee contributions to deferred compensation plans,
Including 401K plans
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e 2015 FUTA Credits

 Annual Federal Unemployment Tax (FUTA, Form 940)
return is due January 31st for the prior calendar year.

o If your state unemployment insurance is paid by

January 31st, then you receive a credit against your
FUTA

FUTA rate - Credit = Final FUTA rate

Example:

R L I, B R

6.0% - 54% = .6%
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- Unemployment Insurance
i Tax Rate Notice

Rate notices will be mailed out in late November for
the following calendar year

Employers have the right to appeal their rate
determination within 30 days of notification
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New Employer Industry
Rate

LR L L R

e For 2015

\

— The new Employer Contribution rate is based on a 2 year
Industry average

(P

— Industry Rate — ranges between 1.3% and 7.3%

— Per Statute construction contractors who have operated

In another state before coming to Utah will receive the
maximum rate of 7.3%
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Formula for Calculating
Experience Tax Rates

At least one fiscal year (July 1 - June 30) is required to calculate a contribution rate with

reported wages greater thanzero in July — September. Must have reported wages greater
than zero October — June.

Benefit Costs = Benefit Ratio then Benefit Ratio x Reserve Factor + Social Cost = Overall Tax Rate
Taxable Wages

Benefit Costs: Unemployment benefits paid to former employees that are charged to the
employers account

Taxable Wages: The taxable portion of each employees wages (up to $31,300 for 2015). Total
wages are reported, but the amount in excess of the taxable wage base is not taxed

The Benefit Ratio (Benefit Costs/Taxable wages) is calculated on the last 4 fiscal years. A
fiscal year is July 1 through June 30

Reserve Factor: The Reserve factor is a multiplier (factor), which is adjusted up or down on an
annual basis depending on the overall health ot the Ul Trust Fund balance. The formula is
based on maintaining a balance in the Trust Fund that can fund 18 to 24 months of benefits
during a severe economic downturn. The Reserve Factor is set at 1.0 when the Trust Fund
balance falls between the Maximum and Minimum Adequate Reserve levels. If the Trust Fund
Is insolvent the reserve factor is 2.0.

Social Costs: The Social Costs are those Benefit Costs that cannot be charged back to specific
employers and are added to the Ul tax rate for all employers

Su rch_ar%e: A 1% surcharge is added to the overall rate if the employer owes contribution for
the prior Tiscal year
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Example Formula

Benefit Costs = Benefit Ratio X Reserve Factor + Social Cost = Overall Tax Rate
Taxable Wages

$950 = 022 x 100 + .003 =.037
$45,800

Quiarterly taxable wages of $3,600 x .024 = $86.40 quarterly tax

The only way to estimate the potential cost of an individual
receiving Ul, Is to take your maximum potential benefit costs and
run it through this formula. The smaller your company, the greater

the impact one separation has because of the ratio of benefit costs
and taxable wages
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Due Dates and Filing
Methods

« Due Dates to report quarterly wages and pay quarterly
taxes:

o April 30

o July 31

o October 31
o January 31

LR L L R

\

I

* Filing Methods:
o Paper Form 33H
o Web Filing (preferred method of filing)
o https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer/login.aspx
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https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer/login.aspx

How Is a Ul Claim Filed?

e Call the Ul Claims o Use the website at

Center at: | jobs.utah.gov
— Salt Lake/South Davis _ Click on

801-526-4400

— Weber/North Davis
801- 612-0877

“Unemployment
Benefits” under the

“Assistance” box

— Utah County i
801- 375-4067 (F:IIIaeirI:IIeW or Reopen

— Remainder of State or - File Weekly Claim
out of state (888) 848-
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Ul Claim Eligibility

Two determinations of Eligibility:

L O O R I

\

1. Monetary Determination
2. Non-Monetary Determinations
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Monetary Determination

— Benefits paid to the claimant are based on wages paid in a “Base
Period.”

— Base period: First four of the last five completed calendar
quarters.

m

— The 5™ Quarter is called the “Lag Quarter.” The Lag Quarter is the
unused quarter between the base period and when the claim is filed
and is normally not used to calculate the monetary entitlement.

— Alternative base period: If the claim cannot be calculated using
the normal base period the most recent four completed quarters
will be used as an alternative.




Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA)

Maximum WBA for 2015 = $496
Minimum WBA = $87

L R AT A R O

\

The WBA is calculated by taking the highest quarterly

earnings in the base period and dividing that number by 26,
then subtracting $5.

Maximum duration = 26 weeks \
Minimum duration = 10 weeks \ 6

Claimants certify eligibility every week
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Non-Monetary Determinations

Able and Available to work
Separations:

L O O R I

\

* Reduction in force (lay off)
 Voluntary Quit
» Discharge

Suitable Work
Separation Payments
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XL

Able to Work

— Must be physically/medically able to perform work in normal
occupation.

O U AT L LT AL L A

\

— Must be readily available to accept and start a full time job.
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Avallable / Seeking Work

VU LU I AL A I I

— Claimants are required to make a work search.

— Exceptions to the work search requirement are granted for
union membership, job attachment, seasonal jobs and
special circumstances for school/ training attendance
related to department approved training programs.
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Voluntary Quit

A separation is a voluntary quit if the claimant was the moving
party in ending the employment relationship.
Claimant has the burden of meeting one of two different standards:

Good Cause-

Adverse effect that the claimant could not control or prevent; or

left work that is shown to have been illegal; or unsuitable new
work.

Equity and Good Conscience-

Must show they acted reasonably in response to extraordinary
circumstances; made a work search.

Note: Employers can be charged if the employer caused the
hardship in the job.



Helpful Hints for Voluntary Quit

If an employee gives advanced notice to quit and an employer requires
the person to leave before the end of the notice period, the employer
must pay regular wage to the claimant through the notice period, or the
resignation is considered a discharge.

An announcement that the claimant is looking for new work is NOT a
resignation.

If a claimant quit to avoid reasonable discipline, then the separation is
generally considered a quit.

If a claimant quits to avoid discharge, the separation is generally
considered a discharge. It is also considered a discharge if an employer
gives the employee the option to quit to avoid certain discharge.

If claimant announces an intent to quit but agrees to stay on for an
indefinite period of time at the employer’s discretion, the separation is
still a quit even if the employer determines the date of separation.
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Discharge

__a» A Separation is considered discharge when the employer is the moving party
@ causing the separation. Employers have the burden of proving the following
@ elements to show just cause to deny benefits for discharge:

Culpability- Conduct must be serious:

— length of employment, isolated nature of incident, and final incident is
taken into consideration.

— Act of discharge needs to be within close proximity of the final incident,
or else explanation is needed for the delay.

Knowledge- Claimant must know the employer’s expectations:
— Employer policies and prior warnings can be used to show knowledge

— Universal standard of conduct taken into consideration: violence, theft,
fraud, etc.

Control- Claimant must have control to prevent discharge
— Must be shown that the claimant had the skills and ability to do the job. 23
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Discharge for a Crime

In Utah, being discharged for crime will result in a mandatory 52
week disqualification for the claimant and removal of the
Impacted employers' wages from the monetary calculation of
Unemployment Benefits. In order to impose a discharge for
crime decision it must be shown:

The criminal act was in connection to work.

The criminal act was an act of dishonesty (theft) constituting a
felony or class A misdemeanor.

The claimant admitted to the act or was established by court
conviction.

Note: If the elements of discharge for crime are not met the

separation will still be adjudicated using the standard discharge
elements explained earlier.



Helpful hints for Discharge

L R AT A R O

— If an employee resigns but later attempts to rescind and the
employer refuses to allow the employee to return, the
department looks at whether the employer’s actions were
reasonable in considering the separation a quit or discharge.
(i.e. already hired a replacement, actions taken by the
employer are now impractical to reverse).

\

I

If an employee quits in lieu of a discharge, the separation is
still a discharge.

If you wait too long after the final incident occurred to
discharge a claimant, it is difficult to show the employer is
harmed and just cause may not be established.

Continued
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Helpful Hints for Discharge

L R AT A R O

\

— If you are choosing to lay employees off as part of a reduction
In workforce and choose poor performers to lay off the
separation is still considered a reduction of force.

I

In a discharge situation, be sure the employee understands they
are being fired. Using vague terminology such as “we are
letting you go,” or “it’s not working out,” leaves the claimant
unsure about the reason for separation.

T
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Recommended Steps to Take
Prior to Separation

Screen applicants with tests of skill prior to hiring them.

Monitor new employees job performance and keep accurate
notes.

Be consistent in disciplinary actions. m
Develop clear statements of policy.

Give every employee a copy of policy and get employee’s
signature.
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Suitable Work

LR L L R

A claimant must accept an offer of suitable new work. However,
they do not have to accept an offer of work that is not suitable.

Things to consider regarding suitable work:

\

(P

Wages

Location of work

Prior experience and skill

Working conditions, including hours of work
Risk to health and safety or physical capacity
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Separation Payments

L R AT A R O

ﬁ Types of separation pay
— Vacation
— Severance
— Payments for remaining on the job

\

I

Ul benefits are denied for the period of time the separation
payment covers

Separation payments can be allocated out to future quarters to
be use as base period wages
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Part-Time Employees

L R AT A R O

— Claimants who continue to work part time may be
entitled to Ul benefits

— The employer may be relieved of charges if the
employee's hours have not been reduced

— Employers are not eligible for relief of charges for
employees working "on call”

\
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Reimbursable Employers

LR L L R

\

— Reimbursable employers are never eligible for relief of

charges. However, wages may be excluded from the claim in
certain situations.

(P

— Claimants are only denied benefits until they have earned 6
times their weekly benefit amount in new covered
employment.
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Non-Compliance

L R AT A R O

Report claimant’s non-compliance. Sometimes referred to
as “fraud”.

\

I

Employer line: 801-526-4400 or 888-848-0688, choose
option 4.

Online: jobs.utah.gov select “Report Fraud”

Fax the information to 801-526-9800 or 801-526-4402.

T

Include as much information as possible about the claimant
and the potential activity that would be disqualifying.

1I

\
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Non Compliance or Fraud
Examples:

LR L L R

Failure to report work or earnings
Inability to work

Failure to look for or apply for work
Refusing a job offer

Working “under the table”

Failure to report a separation

Self employment/Contract Work

Sty

\

I

—_—

=
—_—
—_—
—
—

—

—

-
-
-
-
2>
=
£ 4
-
-
-
-
R
-
-
e
-
e
-
-
-
-
R
-
-
I
-




\

Requests for Information

LR L L R

It is critical that employers respond to all requests for information
as quickly as possible. Some needed information may include:

\

Reason for separation, include specific details
Information on separation pay, retirement, availability
Return follow-up phone calls for rebuttal clarification

Requests for weekly earnings verification (not by pay period)
Verification of application for work
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We can’t do i1t without YOU!

Respond to requests for information

You can do this on line by following the
Instructions on the Request for
Separation Information, by fax or mail,
or returning phone calls

VU LU I AL A I I
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Disagree with a Decision?
File an Appeal

File timely appeal (generally 15 calendar days)

Call at least 24 hours in advance of hearing date/time to confirm
participation.

Person with FIRST HAND factual information should
participate.

Review documents prior to hearing and have them for the

hearing. If you have additional documentation (laws or regulations of

industry, warnings, separation notices) provide it to all parties prior to the
hearing.

Only one hearing — make sure all information presented.

Not every discharge results in a denial of benefits. An ALJ’s job is

to determine whether or not a client qualifies for Ul, not whether an employer
had a good reason for discharging an employee.



Summary of Presentation

L R AT A R O

Claimants must have sufficient wage credits to be monetarily |
eligible for Ul benefits.

Claimants must meet all non-monetary requirements in order
to receive Ul benefits.

Employers need to take an active role in responding to notices
and monitoring their employment practices to minimize their
future unemployment tax rates.

DWS welcomes any suggestions for improving our services to
employers or job seekers.

\
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Employer Web Page 1

UED Utah.gow Services Search all of Utah.gov »
Sign in -
Employers

Find Qualified Emplovees ’
YWorkforce Services has more than 80,000 active resumée

Post jobs and search our database of job seskers to I'HEE{‘?ET‘I' -
workforce needs

Post a Job Today

Unemployment Insurance Economic Data Business Dewvelopment

File Tax Reports

wionthhy Employmment Situation Business Programs
Make a Quarterty Payrment

Occupational Wage Data .
Report New Hires County Information Recruitment Support
Register a New Business Local insights Mewsletter

a ek g Worker Skill Development

“En“ The Utah Economic Data Sloan Award

wiewer gives you access to - Replaces WorkLire
UTAH ECONOMIC hundreds of useful reports
S Colden Key Award

itz v

Find a DWS Location Translate this Page Follow Us

Eind Salect Your Language P ouTube WV Twitter f Facebook
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IED Utah.gowv Services ACEncies

Search all of Utah.gov

Sigrin -
(e} Search Jobs

Employers Temporary Assis Labkor Market Department
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Linemployiment Insurances and Mews Hire Reporting

Home Tax - Payments =

Mew Hire -

Claims - Registration -

Correspondence -

Hello. Click here to sign in.

Admin - Info -

Tax Reporting

Current Filing Qtr: 2013 Q14
Due: January 31, 2014

Other Options

= “iew or amend past reports
-« iew tax forms
= “iew all tax reporting options

Mew Hire Reporting
File a New Hire Report Now ~w

Other Options

= “iew past new hire reports
= isw all new hire options

e New Hire Report —

Motice of Claim Filing

File a Form 606 Now >

Other Options

= “iew history of 5606 responses
= “iew all notice of claim filing options

Payments

MMake a Payment Mow >

Other Options

- “iewsedit pending EF T payments
« Make a payrment without signing in
« “iew all payment options

Correspondence

Yiew Correspondence Mow >

Other Options

= “iew all correspondence options

Business Registration

Create a New Ul Account For a
Business >

Other Options

- Add an existing business to my user
accournt
“iew all business registration
options

Account Admin

Most Popular Admin Options

wAiEw account profile
Display bhenefit costs

Rate notice (Form 457
Update address information
File an appeal

Information for appeals
Print IRS form S40C

Close or recpen an account

Other Options

« “iew all account admin options




». Contact Information @

Ul Benefits Ul Contributions

Claim Filing Quarterly Tax Filing
Separation Requests Tax Rates

Report Fraud Subject Wages
New Hire Reporting

 Employer Line:
801-526-4400 or 888-848- Employer Accounts:
0688, choose option 4 801-526-9235

e Chat Line available: Chat Line available:
jobs.utah.gov jobs.utah.gov

e For claimants to file: Quarterly Tax Filing:

801-526-4400 or jobs.utah.gov
jobs.utah.gov
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