
 

 
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT 

 
Examine, analyze, and interpret accounting records for the purpose of giving 
advice or preparing statements. Install or advise on systems of recording costs or 
other financial and budgetary data.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 13-2011 Accountants & Auditors  
 
Fees:
New Application Fee   $85.00  
Renewal Fee $63.00  
Renewal Date     September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah  4,486 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Association of Certified Public Accountants  
220 E Morris Avenue Ste 320  
Salt Lake City UT 84115  
Phone: (801) 466-8022  
Fax: (801) 485-6206  
http://uacpa.org/
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/accountancy.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-26a.pdf
http://uacpa.org/


 

 
ACUPUNCTURE PRACTITIONER  

 
"Practice of acupuncture" means the insertion of acupuncture needles and 
application of moxibustion to specific areas of the human body based on 
traditional Oriental medical diagnosis and concepts as a primary mode of 
therapy. “Moxibustion” is heat therapy that uses the herb moxa to heat 
acupuncture points of the body.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1199 Health Diagnosing & Treating Practitioner, All Other  
 
Fees:
New Application Fee   $110.00  
Renewal Fee   $ 63.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah  86 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupations & Professional Licensing
 
Acupuncture Licensing Act
 
Regulatory Agency:
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:
National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 
76 S Laura St Ste 1290 
Jacksonville FL 32202 
Phone: (904) 598-1005 Fax: (904) 598-5001  
NCCAOM
 
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/acupuncture.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-72.pdf
http://www.nccaom.org/about/index.html


 

 
AIRCRAFT MECHANIC 

 
An aircraft mechanic diagnoses, adjusts, repairs, and overhauls all types of 
aircraft engines and assemblies, mechanical systems, hydraulic systems, 
pneumatic systems, and airframe plus airframe components, to insure 
airworthiness.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 49-3012 FAA Certified, 49-3013 Not FAA Certified  
 
Fees:  
An FAA designee will charge examination fee and other fees may be required.  
License does not expire.  
Number licensed in Utah not available  
 
Applications & Forms: Aircraft Mechanic Requirements  
 
For more information contact: 
Aircraft Mechanics
Federal Aviation Administration  
800 Independence Avenue, SW  
Washington DC 20591  
Phone: (866) 835-5322  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
257-5020.  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Federal Aviation Administration  
Salt Lake City Flight Standards District Office (FSDO)
Flight Standards District Office  
1020 N Flyer Way (2130 West)  
Salt Lake City UT 84116 -2959  
Phone: (801) 257-5020 Toll-free: (800) 532-0268 Fax: (801) 257-5066  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Federal Aviation Administration  
800 Independence Avenue SW  
Washington DC 20591  
Phone: (866) 835-5322 

 

http://www.faa.gov/mechanics/
http://www.faa.gov/licenses_certificates/aircraft_certification/
http://www.faa.gov/index.cfm
http://www.faa.gov/about/office_org/field_offices/fsdo/slc/contact/


 

 
AIRCRAFT PILOT - FLIGHT ENGINEER 

 
Pilot and navigate the flight of multi-engine or single-engine aircraft in regularly 
scheduled or on-demand service for the transport of passengers and cargo. 
Requires Federal Air Transportation rating and certification in specific aircraft 
type used (large aircraft–commercial, smaller aircraft–private or recreational). 
Includes aircraft instructors with similar certification.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 53-2012 Pilot, Flight Engineer  
 
Fees:  
FAA designees, for written and oral flight tests, will charge fees.  
Aircraft Pilot certificate does not expire.  
Must have FAA class l or class ll medical certificate.  
Number licensed in Utah is not available.  
 
Qualifications for license: Federal Aviation Administration  
 
For more information: 
Federal Aviation Administration
800 Independence Avenue, SW  
Washington DC 20591  
Phone: (866) 835-5322  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications for pilots can be obtained by 
calling (801) 257-5020.  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Federal Aviation Administration  
Salt Lake City Flight Standards District Office (FSDO)
Flight Standards District Office  
1020 N Flyer Way (2130 West)  
Salt Lake City UT 84116-2959  
Phone: (801) 257-5020 Toll-free: (800) 532-0268 Fax: (801) 257-5066  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association  
421 Aviation Way  
Frederick MD 21701  
Phone: (800) 872-2672 Fax: (301) 695-2375  
 

 

http://www.faa.gov/pilots/become/
http://www.faa.gov/pilots/become/
http://www.faa.gov/about/office_org/field_offices/fsdo/slc/contact/
http://www.aopa.org/


 

 
ALARM SYSTEM INSTALLER 

 
A burglar alarm installer is an individual engaged in the alarm business, which 
includes any commercial activity involving the sale, wiring and equipment 
installation, alteration, programming, maintenance and repair of security and fire 
alarm systems. A burglar alarm company agent is any individual employed within 
this state by a person engaged in the alarm business.  
 
OES - SOC Codes: 49-2098 Security & Fire Alarm Systems Installers  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee Agent   $60.00  
Renewal Fee Agent   $42.00  
Renewal Date      November 30, even years  
FBI Fingerprint File Search   $20.00  
BCI Fingerprint File Search   $20.00  
Number Licensed in Utah   7,040 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act Burglar Alarm Licensing Rules  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
National Burglar & Fire Alarm Association
2300 Valley View Lane, Ste 230 
Irving TX 75062  
Phone: (214) 260-5970 Toll-free: (888) 447-1689 Fax: (214) 260-5979  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/burglar_alarm.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-55d.pdf
http://alarm.org/


 

 
ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION PROVIDER 

 
Provides an alternative system for settling conflicts between two or more parties, 
which operates both independent of or as an adjunct to the judicial-litigation 
system, through the intervention of a qualified neutral person or settlement 
process. (ADRP)  
 
OES - SOC Codes: 23-1022 Arbitrators, Mediators, and Conciliators  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $85.00  
Renewal Fee   $63.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah    49  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Alternative Dispute Resolution Providers Certification Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
 
  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/alternative_dispute_resolution.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-39a.pdf
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/


 

 
ARCHITECT 

 
An architect provides professional services in planning and designing structures, 
such as private residences, office buildings, theaters, factories, and other 
structural property.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 17-1011 Architects, Except Landscape & Naval  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $110.00  
Renewal Fee   $ 63.00  
Education & Enforcement Fund Fee   $ 10.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah   1,924 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Architect Licensing Act
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
National Council of Architectural Registration Boards 
1801 K St NW, Ste 700-K  
Washington DC 20006  
Phone: (202) 783-6500 Fax: (202) 783-0290  
NCARB: National Council of Architectural Registration Boards  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/architecture.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-3a.pdf
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.ncarb.org/


 

 
ATHLETE AGENT 

 
An individual who enters into an agency contract with a student athlete or, 
directly or indirectly, recruits or solicits a student athlete to enter into an agency 
contract. The term includes an individual who represents to the public that the 
individual is an athlete agent.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 13-1011 Agents & Business Mangers of Artists, Performers, 
and Athletes  
 
Fees:
New Application Fee     $510.00  
Renewal Fee      $510.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah     18 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Athlete Agent Licensing Act  
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
The National Collegiate Athletic Association  
700 W Washington St 
PO Box 6222  
Indianapolis IN 46206-6222  
Phone: (317) 917-6222 Fax: (317) 917-6888  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/athlete_agent.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/15-9.pdf
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.ncaa.org/wps/ncaa?ContentID=141


 

 
ATHLETIC TRAINER 

 
The "practice of athletic training" means the application by a licensed and 
certified athletic trainer of principles and methods of: prevention of athletic 
injuries; recognition, evaluation, and assessment of athletic injuries and 
conditions; immediate care of athletic injuries, including common emergency 
medical situations; rehabilitation and reconditioning of athletic injuries; athletic 
training services administration and organization; and education of athletes.  
 
OES – SOC Code: 29-9091 Athletic Trainers  
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee     $70.00  
Renewal Fee      $47.00  
Renewal Date      May 30, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah     292 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Athletic Trainer Licensing Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Association & Organizations:  
National Athletic Trainer Association Board of Certification (NATABOC)  
Board of Certification, Inc.  
4223 S 143rd Circle  
Omaha NE 68137-4505  
Phone: (402) 559-0091 Fax: (402) 561-0598  
Toll-free: (877) 262-3926 (877-BOC-EXAM) 
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/athletic_trainer.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-40a.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.bocatc.org/


 

 
ATTORNEY / LAWYERS 

 
Represents clients in criminal and civil litigation and other legal proceedings, 
draws up legal documents, and manages or advises clients on legal transactions. 
May specialize in a single area or may practice broadly in many areas of law.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 23-1011 Attorney, Lawyer  
 
Fees: 
New Application Filing Fee  
Number Licensed in Utah not available  
 
Utah State Bar--Rules of Admissions  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Utah State Bar  
645 S 200 East  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 531-9077 Fax: (801) 531-0660  
info@utahbar.org  
 
Please note that licensing requirements and fees change periodically. Therefore, 
please refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current 
license requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by 
calling (801) 531-9077.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Bar Association  
321 N Clark Street  
Chicago IL 60654-7598 
Phone: (312) 988-5000 
 
American Bar Association
740 15th Street, N.W. 
Washington, DC 20005-1019 
Phone: (202) 662-1000 
  
 

 

http://www.utahbar.org/admissions/admissions_faq.html
http://www.utahbar.org/admissions/admissions_rules.html
http://www.utahbar.org/
mailto:info@utahbar.org
http://www.abanet.org/
http://www.abanet.org/contact/


 

 
AUDIOLOGIST 

 
Assesses and treats persons with hearing and related disorders. Fits hearing aid 
and provides auditory training. May perform research related to hearing 
problems.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1121 Audiologists  
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee     $70.00  
Renewal Fee      $47.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah     221  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology Licensing Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Speech-Language Hearing Association - USHA  
PO Box 571575 
Murray UT 84157-1575  
Fax: (801) 408-5656  
 
American Academy of Audiology
11730 Plaza America Drive, Ste 300 
Reston VA 20190  
Phone: (800) AAA-2336, (703) 790-8466 Fax: 703-790-8631  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/speech_audiology.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-41.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.ushaonline.net/
http://www.audiology.org/


 

 
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT 

 
Examine, analyze, and interpret accounting records for the purpose of giving 
advice or preparing statements. Install or advise on systems of recording costs or 
other financial and budgetary data.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 13-2011 Accountants & Auditors  
 
Fees:
New Application Fee   $85.00  
Renewal Fee $63.00  
Renewal Date     September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah  4,508 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Association of Certified Public Accountants  
220 E Morris Avenue Ste 320  
Salt Lake City UT 84115  
Phone: (801) 466-8022  
Fax: (801) 485-6206  
http://uacpa.org/
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/accountancy.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-26a.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://uacpa.org/


 

 
BUILDING INSPECTOR 

 
Inspects structures using engineering skills to determine structural soundness 
and compliance with specifications, building codes, and other regulations. 
Inspections may be general in nature or may be limited to a specific area, such 
as electrical systems or plumbing.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 47-4011 Construction & Building Inspectors  
 
Fees:
New Application Fee    $85.00  
Renewal Fee   $63.00  
Renewal Date      November 30, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah   548 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Utah Uniform Building Standards Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
International Code Council  
 
Uniform Building Codes
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/building_inspection.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-56.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.iccsafe.org/
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/programs/ubc/index.html


 

 
CERTIFIED NURSE MIDWIFE 

 
Independent management of women's healthcare, focusing particularly on 
pregnancy, childbirth, and the postpartum period, care of the newborn, and the 
family planning and gynecological needs of women.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1161 Midwife, Certified Nurse Midwife 
 
Fees:
New Application Fee    $100.00  
Renewal Fee      $ 63.00  
Renewal Date      January 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah     133 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Nurse Midwife Practice Act
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Federation of State Medical Boards
PO Box 619850  
Dallas TX 75261-9850  
Phone: (817) 868-4000 Fax: (817) 868-4099  
 
National Council of State Boards of Nursing
111 E Wacker Drive Ste 2900  
Chicago IL 60601-4277 
Phone: (312) 525-3600 Fax: (312) 279-1032  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/certified_nurse_midwife.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-44a.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.fsmb.org/
https://www.ncsbn.org/index.htm


 

 
CHILD CARE PROVIDERS 

 
Attends to children at schools, businesses, private households, and childcare 
institutions. Performs a variety of tasks, such as dressing, feeding, bathing, and 
overseeing play.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 39-9011 Child Care Workers  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $35.00  
Renewal Fee      $35.00  
FBI Fingerprints      $31.00  
Number Licensed in Utah     not available  
 
Applications & Forms: Child Care Provider Forms & Materials  
 
Current Child Care Rules and Interpretation Manuals
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Utah Department of Health  
Child Care Licensing
Contact Information
288 N 1460 West  
Salt Lake City UT 84114-2003 
Phone: (801) 538-9084 Fax:(801) 538-6325  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained at or by calling 
(801) 538-9084.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
National Child Care Information Center (NCCIC)  
9300 Lee Highway 
Fairfax VA 22031-6050  
Phone: (800) 616-2242 Fax: (800) 716-2242 TTY: (800) 516-2242  
 
 

 

http://health.utah.gov/licensing/
http://health.utah.gov/licensing/
http://health.utah.gov/licensing/
http://health.utah.gov/licensing/childcareforms.htm
http://health.utah.gov/licensing/rules.htm
http://health.utah.gov/licensing/index.htm
http://health.utah.gov/licensing/contact.htm
http://www.nccic.org/


 

 
CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIAN 

 
Adjusts spinal column and other articulations of the body to correct abnormalities 
of the human body caused by interference with the nervous system. Examines 
patient to determine nature and extent of disorder. Manipulates spine or other 
involved areas. May utilize supplementary measures such as exercise, rest, 
water, light, heat, and nutritional therapy.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1011 Chiropractors  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $200.00  
Renewal Fee   $113.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah   760 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Chiropractic Physician Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
UCPA - Utah Chiropractic Physicians Association
8841 S Redwood Road Ste D 
West Jordan UT 84088  
Phone: (801) 432-2180 Fax: (801) 432-2182  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/chiropractic.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-73.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.utahchiro.org/wp/


 

 
CONTRACTOR 

 
Directly supervises and coordinates activities of construction or extraction 
workers. A contractor performs specified construction work in accordance with 
the architect's plans, the building codes, etc., providing materials and/or work.  
 
OES - SOC: 11-9021 Construction Managers  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $210.00  
Supplemental Classification   $110.00  
Renewal Fee   $113.00  
Renewal Date      November 30, odd years  
Number licensed in Utah   17,974  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies  
 23309 North 17th Drive 
Building 1 Unit 110 
Phoenix AZ 85027 
Phone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/contracting.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-55.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.nascla.org/conference.php


 

 
COSMETOLOGIST- BARBER, & ESTHETICIAN 

 
Cosmetologists/barbers cut, style, and advise patrons on how to care for their 
hair. They may straighten, permanent wave, or color hair, give manicures, scalp 
and facial treatments. Provide makeup analysis, and clean and style wigs and 
hairpieces.  
 
OES - SOC Code:   39-5011 Barbers  

39-5012 Cosmetologist, Hairstylists,  
39-5094 Esthetician  

Fees:  
Cosmetology, Esthetician, & Barber Fee   $60.00  
Renewal Fee    $52.00  
Renewal Date       September 30, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah  23,855 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Cosmetologist Barber Licensing Act
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
National Cosmetology Association  
15825 N 71st Street Ste 100 
Scottsdale AZ 85254 
Phone: (800) 468-2274 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/cosmetology_barbering.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-11a.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.ncacares.org/


 

 
COUNSELOR PROFESSIONAL 

 
A professional counselor practices mental health therapy by means of 
observation, description, evaluation, interpretation, intervention, and treatment to 
modification of human behavior by the application of generally recognized 
professional counseling principles, methods and procedures for the purpose of 
preventing, treating, or eliminating mental or emotional illness or dysfunction 
symptoms of any of these, or maladaptive behavior.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 21-1014 Mental Health Counselors  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $120.00  
Renewal Fee      $ 93.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah     649  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Mental Health Professional Practice Act
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
National Board for Certified Counselors
3 Terrace Way  
Greensboro NC 27403-3660  
Phone: (336) 547-0607 Fax: (336) 547-0017  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/professional_counseling.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-60.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.nbcc.org/


 

 
CERTIFIED COURT REPORTER 

 
Uses verbatim methods and equipment to capture, store, retrieve, and transcribe 
pretrial and trial proceedings or other information.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 23-2091 Court Reporters  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $45.00  
Renewal Fee   $42.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah   112  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Certified Court Reporters Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
National Court Reporters Association
8224 Old Courthouse Road  
Vienna VA 22182-3808  
Phone: (800) 272-6272 (NCRA) Fax: (703) 556-6291  
 
National Verbatim Reporters Association  
629 North Main Street  
Hattiesburg MS 39401  
Phone: (601) 582-4345 Fax: (601) 582-3354  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/court_reporting.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-74.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://ncraonline.org/
http://nvra.org/index.cfm


 

 
DECEPTION DETECTION EXAMINER 

 
An individual who engages in or represents the individual who is engaged in 
conducting or performing deception detection examinations or in the 
interpretation of deception detection examination.  
 
OES - SOC Code 19-4092 Polygraph Examiners  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee – Examiner   $50.00  
Renewal Fee - Examiner   $32.00  
FBI Fingerprint file search   $20.00 per person  
BCI Fingerprint file search   $20.00 per person  
Renewal Date       November 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah  28  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Deception Detection Examiners Licensing Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free is Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Polygraph Association  
  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/deception_detection.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-64.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.utahpolygraph.org/


 

 
DENTAL HYGIENIST 

 
A dental hygienist preserves health and prevents disease of teeth by cleaning, 
administering X-rays of the teeth, assisting dentists, educating patients and the 
public.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-2021 Dental Hygienists, Oral Hygienist  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $60.00  
Anesthesia Upgrade   $35.00  
Renewal Fee   $37.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, even years  
Number licensed in Utah   2,082  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Dentist and Dental Hygienist Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be by calling (801) 530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Dental Association  
211 E Chicago Ave.  
Chicago IL 60611-2678  
Phone: (312) 440-2500  
 
American Association of Dental Examiners  
211 E Chicago Ave. Ste 760  
Chicago IL 60611  
Phone: (312) 440-7464  
info@dentalboards.org  

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/dentistry.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-69.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.ada.org/
http://www.aadexam.org/aade.htm
mailto:rkapp@aadexam.org


 

 
DENTIST 

 
A dentist diagnoses and treats disease, injuries, and malformations of teeth, 
gums, and related oral structures.  
 
OES -SOC Code: 29-1021 Dentist, General  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $110.00  
Renewal Fee   $ 63.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, even years  
Anesthesia Upgrade   $ 60.00  
Number Licensed in Utah   2,417  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Dentist & Dental Hygienist Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Dental Association  
211 E Chicago Ave  
Chicago IL 60611-2678  
Phone: (312) 440-2500  
 
American Association of Dental Examiners  
211 E Chicago Ave. Ste 760  
Chicago IL 60611  
Phone: (312) 440-7464  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/dentistry.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-69.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.ada.org/
http://www.aadexam.org/aade.htm


 

 
DIETITIAN CERTIFIED 

  
Plans and conducts food service or nutritional programs to assist in the 
promotion of health and control of disease. Supervises activities of a department 
providing quantity food services, counsel individuals, or conducts nutritional 
research.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1031 Dietitians & Nutritionists  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $60.00  
Renewal Fee    $37.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah  646  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Dietitian Certification Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/certified_dietitian.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-49.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/


 

 
DIRECT-ENTRY MIDWIFE 

 
“Direct-entry midwifery" means practice of providing the necessary supervision, 
care, and advice to a client during essentially normal pregnancy, labor, delivery, 
postpartum, and newborn periods that is consistent with national professional 
midwifery standards and that is based upon the acquisition of clinical skills 
necessary for the care of pregnant women and newborns, including ante-partum, 
intra-partum, postpartum, newborn, and limited inter-conceptual care.  
 
OES – SOC Code: 29-1071 Physicians Assistant  
 
Fees:
New Application Fee     $100.00  
Renewal Fee      $63.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah     22  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Direct-Entry Midwife Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Midwives Alliance of North America
611 Pennsylvania Ave, SE #1700  
Washington DC 20003-4303  
Phone Toll-free: (888) 923-6262  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/direct_entry_midwife.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-77.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://mana.org/index.html


 

 
DRIVER - BUS 

 
Bus drivers transport passengers over specified routes, to local or distant points, 
according to time schedule; assist passengers with baggage and collect tickets 
or cash fares; regulate heating, lighting, and ventilating systems for passenger 
comfort. They comply with local traffic regulations, report delays or accidents, 
record cash receipts and ticket fare. Bus drivers make repairs and change tires; 
inspect the bus; check the gas, oil, and water before departure; load or unload 
baggage or express checked by passengers. Transport pupils between pickup 
points and school.  
 
OES - SOC Code:  53-3021 Transit and Inter-city  

53-3022 School bus  
Fees:  
New Application Fee & Renewal Fee Fees—All Classifications  
 
Commercial Driver License Handbook  
 
For more information: Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License 
Division  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
965-4437.  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Public Safety - Drivers License Division  
Third Floor - South 
4501 S 2700 West 
Salt Lake City UT 84114 
Phone: (801) 965-4437  
 
 
 
  
 

 

http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/fees.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/handbooks.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/index.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/index.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/index.html


 

 
DRIVER – TAXI CAB 

 
Taxi drivers transport passengers for a fee, pick up passengers in response to 
radio or telephone requests for their services, collect a fee based on mileage or 
time factors and must record each transaction in a log. Taxi drivers may drive a 
limousine or van to transport airport passengers to their destinations.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 53-3041 Taxi Drivers and Chauffeurs  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee Fees—All Classifications
Renewal Fee Renewal Fees
Number Licensed in Utah not available  
 
Driver License Division Handbooks
 
For more information: Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License 
Division  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official agency to obtain the most current license requirements for 
each occupation. Contact a third party road testing office, or the Utah drivers 
license field offices, or by calling (801) 965-4437.  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License Division
4501 S 2700 West  
Salt Lake City UT 84114  
Phone: (801) 965-4437  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Department of Public Safety - Highway Safety
3888 W 5400 South 
Salt Lake City UT 84118  
Phone: (801) 957-8570 Fax: (801) 957-8588 
  
Utah Driver License Division Administrative Office  
Calvin Rampton Building 
Third Floor - South 
4501 S 2700 West 
Salt Lake City UT 84114 
Phone: (801) 965-4437 Fax: (801) 964-4482 

 

http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/fees.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/fees.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/handbooks.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/index.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/index.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/third_party.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/offices/admin_offices.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/offices/admin_offices.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/index.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/highwaysafety/index.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/offices/admin_offices.html


 

 
DRIVER—TRUCK & TRACTOR TRAILER 

 
Truck drivers drive tractor-trailer trucks or operate other forms of heavy trucks to 
carry goods between terminals. Some drivers deliver a load to a nearby city, pick 
up another loaded trailer, and return it to their home base the same day. Others 
make runs that take days to complete. On very long trips, they may work with a 
partner, taking turns driving. Some truck drivers have regular runs, and others 
have schedules that change from trip to trip. Heavy truck drivers drive single-
body trucks that carry materials that weigh three tons or more. This type of truck 
includes dump, tow, flatbed, ready mix, and tank trucks. Some of the trucks are 
mounted with special equipment.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 53-3032 Capacity of at least 26,000 GVW  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   Fees—all classifications
Renewal Fee      Renewal Fees
Number Licensed in Utah  67,042 +   
 
Frequently Asked Questions: CDL Information
 
Commercial Drivers License Handbook  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official agency to obtain the most current license requirements for 
each occupation. Contact a third party road testing office, or the Utah drivers 
license field offices, or by calling (801) 965-4437.  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Utah Department of Public Safety - Administration
First Floor - South 
4501 S 2700 West  
Salt Lake City UT 84118  
Phone: (801) 965-4437 Fax: (801) 964-4437 
 
Professional Associations & Organizations: 
Utah Trucking Association  
3060 West California Avenue Ste A  
Salt Lake City UT 84104  
Phone: (801) 973-9370 Fax: (801) 973-8515  
 

 

http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/fees.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/fees.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/faq_3.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/handbooks.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/third_party.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/offices/admin_offices.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/offices/admin_offices.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dps/contact.html
http://www.utahtrucking.com/


 

 
ELECTRICIAN 

 
Installs, maintains, and repairs electrical wiring, equipment and fixtures. Ensures 
that work is in accordance with relevant codes. Installs or services streetlights, 
intercom systems, or electrical control systems.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 47-2111 Electricians  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $110.00  
Renewal Fee   $ 63.00  
Renewal Date   November 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah   10,245 all classifications  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Electricians Licensing Rules  
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Electrician CEU Providers  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/electrical.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-55b.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/forms/electrician_CE_providers.pdf


 

 
ELECTROLOGIST  

 
Provide skincare treatments to face and body to enhance an individual’s 
appearance. Includes electrologists and laser hair removal specialists. 
 
OES - SOC Code: 39-5094 Skincare Specialist 
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee    $50.00  
Electrologist Renewal Fee     $32.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah                                   124  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Cosmetologist, Barber, & Electrologist, Licensing Act
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
  
 
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/cosmetology_barbering.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-11a.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/


 

 

 
ELEVATOR MECHANIC 

 
Assemble, install, repair, or maintain electric or hydraulic freight or passenger 
elevators, escalators, or dumbwaiters. 
 
OES - SOC Code: 47-4021 Elevator Installers and repairers 
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee   $110.00  
Renewal Fee $63.00  
Renewal Date     November 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah   
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Elevator Mechanics Licensing Rule 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Society of Mechanical Engineers 
Headquarters 

Three Park Avenue 
New York NY 10016-5990 
Phone: (800) 843-2763 



 

 
ENGINEER-STRUCTURAL & PROFESSIONAL 

 
Performs engineering duties in planning, designing, and overseeing construction 
and maintenance of building structures and facilities, such as roads, railroads, 
airports, bridges, harbors, channels, dams, irrigation projects, pipelines, power 
plants, water and sewage systems, and waste disposal units.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 17-2051 Civil engineer  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee    $110.00  
Renewal Fee    $ 63.00  
Education & Enforcement Fund Surcharge   $ 10.00  
Renewal Date       March 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah      2,244  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Professional Engineers & Professional Land Surveyors Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (801) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:
Utah Society for Professional Engineers  
 
American Council of Engineering Companies  
1015 15th Street 8th Floor NW  
Washington DC 20005-2605  
Phone: (202) 347-7474 Fax: (202) 898-0068  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/engineer_land_surveying.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-22.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.uspeonline.com/
http://www.acec.org/


 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SCIENTIST 

 
Conducts research or performs investigations for the purpose of identifying, 
abating or eliminating sources of pollutants or hazards that affect either the 
environment or the health of the population. Utilizing knowledge of various 
scientific disciplines, may collect, synthesize, study, report, and take action 
based on data derived from measurements or observations of air, food, soil, 
water, and other sources.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 19-2041 Environmental Scientists & Specialist  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $60.00  
Renewal Fee   $37.00  
Renewal Date   May 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah   237 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Environmental Health Scientist Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Environmental Health Association  
PO Box 572104  
Murray UT 84157  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/environmental_health_science.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-20a.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.ueha.org/


 

 
FACTORY-BUILT HOUSING DEALER 

 
The scope of the work included under the license includes the placement and/or 
securing of the factory-built housing on a permanent or temporary foundation, 
securing the units together if required, and connection of the utilities to the 
factory-built housing unit; but does not include site preparation, construction of a 
permanent foundation, and construction of utility services to the near proximity of 
the factory-built housing unit.  
 
OES - SOC: 49-9095 Manufactured Building and Mobile Home Installer  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $30.00  
Renewal Fee      $30.00  
Education/Enforcement Fee    $75.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Number licensed in Utah    43 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Utah Uniform Building Standards Act
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
359-4417.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Home & Communities - US Department of Housing and Urban Development
Salt Lake City Field Office 
125 S State Street Ste 3001 
Salt Lake City UT 84138  
Phone: (801) 524-6070 Fax: (801) 524-3439  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/factory_built_housing.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-56.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.hud.gov/


 

 
FUNERAL SERVICE DIRECTOR & APPRENTICE 

 
A funeral service director prepares a body for interment by treating it with 
chemicals in conformity with legal requirements; directs, and arranges funeral 
and other necessary services for the deceased.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 11-9061 Funeral Director, Mortician  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee Director $160.00  
Renewal Fee Director $ 88.00  
Application Fee Apprentice  $ 85.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah  284  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Funeral Services Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Funeral Directors Association
2121 S State Street  
Salt Lake City UT 84115  
Phone: (801) 467-9661 Fax: (801) 485-1578 
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/funeral_service.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-9.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.ufda.org/


 

 
FUNERAL SERVICE SALES AGENTS 

 
An individual licensed as a pre-need funeral arrangement sales agent, works for 
a licensed funeral establishment that furnishes, or will furnish, the services or 
property purchased under a pre-need funeral arrangement.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 41-3099 Sales Representative, Services  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee  $ 85.00  
Renewal Fee  $ 73.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah  197 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Funeral Services Licensing Act
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Funeral Directors Association  
2121 S State Street  
Salt Lake City UT 84107  
Phone: (801) 467-9661 Fax: (801) 485-1578 
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/funeral_service.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-9.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.ufda.org/


 

 
GENETIC COUNSELOR 

 
"Practice of genetic counseling" means the communication process, which deals 
with the human problems associated with the occurrence, or the risk of 
occurrence, of a genetic disorder in a family, including the provision of services to 
help an individual or family. A genetic counselor comprehends the medical facts, 
including the diagnosis, probable cause of the disorder, and the available 
management. Appreciates the way heredity contributes to the disorder and the 
risk of occurrence in specified relatives; understands the alternatives for dealing 
with the risk of occurrence, chooses the course of action which seems 
appropriate to patients in view of their risk, their family goals, and their ethical 
and religious standards, and acts in accordance with that decision. Makes the 
best possible psychosocial adjustment to the disorder in an affected family 
member or to the risk of occurrence of that disorder.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 21-1019 Counselor, all other  
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee    $150.00  
Renewal Fee     $138.00  
Renewal Date     September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah    43  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Genetic Counselors Licensing Act
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Utah Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Most genetic counselors are located at the University of Utah–Neonatal 
Genetics. University of Utah  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/genetic_counseling.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-75.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/


 

 
GEOLOGIST 

 
Studies composition, structure, and history of the earth's crust; examines rocks, 
minerals, and fossil remains to identify and determine the sequence of processes 
affecting the development of the earth; applies knowledge of chemistry, physics, 
biology, and mathematics to explain these phenomena and to help locate mineral 
and petroleum deposits and underground water resources; prepares geologic 
reports and maps; and interprets research data to recommend further action for 
study.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 19-2042 Geoscientist  
 
Fees:
New Application Fee   $150.00  
Renewal Fee   $123.00  
Education & Enforcement Fund Surcharge  $ 15.00  
Renewal Date      March 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah   881  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Professional Geologist Licensing Act
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Geological Association  
PO Box 520100  
Salt Lake City UT 84152-0100  
Phone: (801) 537-3363  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/geology.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-76.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.utahgeology.org/


 

 
HEALTH FACILITY ADMINISTRATOR 

 
"Administrator" means a person who is charged with the general administration 
of a health facility. Plans, directs, or coordinates medicine and health services in 
hospitals, clinics, managed care organizations, public health agencies, or similar 
organizations.  
 
OES - SOC Code 11-9111 Medical and Health Service Managers  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee  $120.00  
Renewal Fee  $ 83.00  
Renewal Date     May 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah  355 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Health Facility Administrator Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 8114-6741  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Health Care Association  
2180 S 1300 East Ste 445  
Salt Lake City UT 84106  
Phone: (801) 486-6100 Fax: (801) 486-0882  
contact@uthca.org   
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/health_facility_administration.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-15.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.uthca.org/
mailto:contact@uthca.org


 

 
HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST & INTERN  

 
A hearing instrument specialist specializes in dispensing or fitting hearing aids, 
testing customers’ hearing, conferring with customers concerning particular 
hearing needs, demonstrating use of aid to customers, fitting or sizing hearing 
aids, replacing defective parts or making repairs to equipment returned by 
customers.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-2092 Hearing Aid Specialists  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee Specialist   $150.00  
Renewal Fee Specialist   $103.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah  91  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
 
Hearing Instrument Specialist Licensing Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
2200 Research Boulevard  
Rockville MD 20850-3289 
Phone: (301) 296-5700 Fax: (301) 296-8590 
 
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/hearing_instrument.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-46a.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://asha.org/default.htm


 

 
HUNTING GUIDES  

 
"Hunting guide" means an individual who offers to guide, lead, or assist another 
individual in hunting wildlife on public lands for compensation; and is retained for 
compensation by an outfitter. 
 
OES - SOC Code:  39-7012 Travel Guides 
 
Fees:
New Application Fee   $75.00  
Renewal Fee   $50.00  
Renewal Date     March 31, even years    
Number Licensed in Utah  69 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupations & Professional Licensing
 
Hunting Guides and Outfitters Licensing Act
 
Regulatory Agency:
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:
Utah Guides and Outfitters
 
National Outfitters & Guides Association
PO Box 1832 
Newport WA 99156 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/hunting_guides.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-79.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.utah-adventures.com/
http://www.outfittersandguides.com/


 

 
INSURANCE ADJUSTER 

 
Conducts the investigation, negotiation, or settlement of a claim under an 
insurance policy, on behalf of an insurer, policyholder, or a claimant under an 
insurance policy.  
 
OES – SOC CODE: 13-1031 Insurance Adjusters  
 
Fees: 
Licensing Fee       
Renewal Information      
Resident Exams and Licensing Procedures  
Continuing Education Requirements  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Utah Insurance Department  
State Office Bldg Room 3110  
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6901  
Phone: (801) 538-3800 Fax: (801) 538-3829  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
538-3800.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Insurance Association (AIA)
Washington, D.C. Headquarters  
2101 L Street NW, Ste 400  
Washington DC 20037  
Phone: (202) 828-7100 Fax: (202) 293-1219  
info@aiadc.org   
 

 

http://www.insurance.utah.gov/producers/feeschedule.html
http://www.insurance.utah.gov/producers/license_renewals.html
http://www.insurance.utah.gov/producers/exam_license_procedures.html
http://www.insurance.utah.gov/producers/continue_education.html
http://www.insurance.utah.gov/index.html
http://www.aiadc.org/aiapub/
mailto:info@aiadc.org


 

 
INSURANCE 

AGENTS, BROKERS, & CONSULTANTS 
 
Sells life, property, casualty, health, automotive, or other types of insurance. May refer 
clients to independent brokers, work as independent broker, or be employed by an 
insurance company.  
 
SOC Code: 41-3021 Agent & Broker, Consultant  
 
Fees:  
Licensing Fee       
Renewal Information      
Resident Exams and Licensing Procedures  
Continuing Education Requirements  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Utah Insurance Department  
State Office Bldg Room 3110  
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6901  
Phone: (801) 538-3800 Fax: (801) 538-3829  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
538-3800.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Insurance Association (AIA)
Washington, D.C. Headquarters  
2101 L Street NW, Ste 400  
Washington DC 20037  
Phone: (202) 828-7100 Fax: (202) 293-1219  
info@aiadc.org

 

http://www.insurance.utah.gov/producers/feeschedule.html
http://www.insurance.utah.gov/producers/license_renewals.html
http://www.insurance.utah.gov/producers/exam_license_procedures.html
http://www.insurance.utah.gov/producers/continue_education.html
http://www.insurance.utah.gov/index.html
http://www.aiadc.org/aiapub/
mailto:info@aiadc.org


 

 

 
LAND SURVEYOR, PROFESSIONAL  

 
A land surveyor establishes land boundaries, researches deeds, and writes 
descriptions of land to satisfy legal requirements. Assists in setting land 
valuations, measures construction and mineral sites, and collects information for 
maps and charts. Makes exact measurements and provides data relevant to the 
shape, contour, gravitation, location, elevation, or dimension of land or land 
features on or near the earth's surface.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 17-1022 Surveyors  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $110.00  
Renewal Fee      $ 63.00  
Education & Enforcement Fund at renewal $ 10.00  
Renewal Date      March 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah     761  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors Licensing Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Council of Land Surveyors 
PO Box 1032  
Salt Lake City UT 84110  
Phone: (801) 964-6192  
  
 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/engineer_land_surveying.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-22.pdf
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.ucls.org/mc/page.do


 

 

 
MARRIAGE & FAMILY THERAPIST  

 
A marriage and family therapist advises individuals and families having family or 
other social problems.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 21-1013 Marriage and Family Therapists  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $120.00  
Renewal Fee   $ 93.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah  494  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Mental Health Professional Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy  
112 S Alfred Street  
Alexandria VA 22314  
Phone: (703) 838-9808 Fax: (703) 838-9805  
 

 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/marriage_family_therapy.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-60.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/index.html
http://www.aamft.org/


 

 

 
MASSAGE THERAPIST  

 
A massage therapist practices, or administers the techniques of body massage, 
either by hands or with a mechanical or electrical apparatus, for the purpose of 
body massaging, reducing or contouring, which may include the use of oil rubs, 
heat lamps, salt glows, hot and cold packs, tub, shower, steam or cabinet baths.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 31-9011 Massage Therapists, Masseuse, Masseur  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee    $60.00  
Renewal Fee Therapist    $52.00  
FBI Fingerprint File Search   $20.00  
BCI Fingerprint File Search   $22.00  
Renewal Date     May 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah    5,582  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Massage Therapy Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Massage Therapy Association  
500 Davis Street, Ste 900  
Evanston IL 60201-4695  
Phone: (847) 864-0123 Fax: (847) 864-1178 Toll-free: (877) 905-2700  
Email: info@amtamassage.org  
 
  
 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/massage_therapy.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-47b.pdf
MASSAGE%20THERAPIST
http://www.amtamassage.org/
mailto:info@amtamassage.org


 

 

 
MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS & SALESPERSON  

 
Motor vehicle salespersons and dealers sell used and new automobiles. This 
includes explaining features; demonstrating the operation of the car and 
suggesting optional equipment; computing and quoting the sales price including 
tax, trade-in allowance, license fee, and discounts, and helping customers with 
the requirements of buying a car on credit.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 41-2031 Retail Salesperson  
 
Fees:  
Motor Vehicle Dealers      $127.00  
Salesperson Original & Renewal     $ 31.00  
Motorcycle & Small Trailer Dealers    $ 51.00  
Fingerprint Fee       $ 15.00  
Renewal Date       June 30, each year  
Automobile Dealer License Requirements 
General Information & Forms 
 
Motor Vehicle Business Regulation Act 
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, 
please refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current 
license requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by 
calling (801) 297-2600.  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Utah State Tax Commission  
Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division  
210 N 1950 West  
Salt Lake City UT 84134  
Phone: (801) 297-2600 Fax: (801) 297-2699  
mved@utah.gov   
 

http://mved.utah.gov/licensefees.html
http://mved.utah.gov/licensefees.html
http://mved.utah.gov/licensefees.html
http://mved.utah.gov/licensefees.html
http://mved.utah.gov/dealerlicense.html
http://mved.utah.gov/general.html
http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE41/41_03.htm
http://mved.utah.gov/index.html
mailto:mved@utah.gov


 

 

 
NAIL TECHNICIAN  

 
Nail technicians may clean, and shape customers' fingernails and toenails, polish 
or decorate nails.  
 
OES - SOC Code - 39-5092 Nail Technicians, Manicurists, and Pedicurists.  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee    $ 60.00 
Renewal Fee     $ 52.00 
Renewal Date     September 30, odd years 
Number Licensed in Utah   3,833 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Cosmetologist. Barber, Esthetician, & Nail Technician Licensing Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/cosmetology_barbering.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-11a.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/


 

 

 
NATUROPATHIC PHYSICIAN  

 
A naturopathic physician examines another person’s body, substances, fluids, or 
materials excreted, or removed from a person’s body, or produced by a person’s 
body, to determine the source, nature, kind, or extent of a disease or other 
physical or mental conditions.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1199 Health Diagnosing and Treating Practitioners  
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee   $200.00 
Renewal Fee      $103.00 
Renewal Date      May 31, even years 
Number Licensed in Utah    30 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Naturopathic Physician Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/naturopathy.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-71.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/


 

 

 
ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE  

 
Assesses patient health problems and needs, develops and implements nursing 
care plans, and maintains medical records. Administers nursing to ill, injured, 
convalescent, or disabled patients.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1111 Nurse, APRN  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $100.00  
Renewal Fee   $ 68.00  
New Application Fee Intern    $ 35.00  
Renewal Date      January 31, even years  
FBI Search   $ 20.00  
BCI Search   $ 20.00  
Number Licensed in Utah   1,285  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Compact  
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Nurses Association 
8515 Georgia Ave Ste 400  
Silver Spring MD 20910-3492  
Phone: (301) 628-5000 Fax: (301) 628-5001  
Toll-free: (800) 274-4ANA (4262)  
 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/nursing.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-31d.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.nursingworld.org/


 

 

 
REGISTERED NURSE—LICENSED  

 
Assesses patient health problems and needs, develops and implements nursing 
care plans, and maintains medical records. Administers nursing to ill, injured, 
convalescent, or disabled patients. Includes advance practice nurses who have 
specialized formal, post-basic education and who function in highly autonomous 
and specialized roles.  
 
OES – SOC Code: 29-1111 Registered Nurse  

29-2061 Licensed Practical & Licensed Vocational Nurse  
Fees:  
Licensed Practical Nurse Application Fee   $ 60.00  
Registered Nurse Application Fee    $ 60.00  
Renewal Fee       $ 58.00  
FBI Search        $ 20.00  
BCI Search        $ 20.00  
Renewal Date       January 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah      25,254 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Nurse Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Nurses Association  
4505 S Wasatch Blvd Ste 135  
Salt Lake City UT 84124  
Phone: (801) 272-4510 Fax: (801) 292-4322 
 

National Council of State Boards of Nursing 
111 E Wacker Drive Ste 2900  
Chicago IL 60601-4277  
Phone: (312) 525-3600 Fax: (312) 279-1032 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/nursing.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-31b.pdf
http://www.utahnursesassociation.com/
https://www.ncsbn.org/index.htm


 

 

 
REGISTERED NURSE—LICENSED  

 
Assesses patient health problems and needs, develops and implements nursing 
care plans, and maintains medical records. Administers nursing to ill, injured, 
convalescent, or disabled patients. Includes advance practice nurses who have 
specialized formal, post-basic education and who function in highly autonomous 
and specialized roles.  
 
OES – SOC Code: 29-1141 Registered Nurse  

29-2061 Licensed Practical & Licensed Vocational Nurse  
Fees:  
Licensed Practical Nurse Application Fee   $ 60.00  
Registered Nurse Application Fee    $ 60.00  
Renewal Fee       $ 58.00  
FBI Search        $ 20.00  
BCI Search        $ 20.00  
Renewal Date       January 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah      25,254 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Nurse Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Nurses Association  
4505 S Wasatch Blvd Ste 135  
Salt Lake City UT 84124  
Phone: (801) 272-4510 Fax: (801) 292-4322 
 

National Council of State Boards of Nursing 
111 E Wacker Drive Ste 2900  
Chicago IL 60601-4277  
Phone: (312) 525-3600 Fax: (312) 279-1032 

http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/licensing_fees.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/renewal_dates.html
http://dopl.utah.gov/profession_statistics.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/nursing.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-31b.pdf
http://dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.utahnursesassociation.com/
https://www.ncsbn.org/index.htm


 

 

 
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST & ASSISTANTS  

 
An occupational therapist plans and directs educational, vocational and 
recreational activities designed to help mentally, physically, or emotionally 
disabled patients become self-sufficient. Occupational therapy assistants work 
under the supervision of professional occupational therapists.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1122 Occupational Therapists  
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee     $70.00  
Renewal Fee    $47.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah  571  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Occupational Therapy Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
The American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc.  
4720 Montgomery Lane  
PO Box 31220  
Bethesda MD 20824-1220 
Phone: (301) 652-2682 Fax: (301) 652-7711 TDD: (800) 377-8555 



 

 

 
OPTOMETRIST  

 
An optometrist examines eyes to determine visual defects or diseases and 
prescribes corrective procedures.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1041 Optometrists  
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee     $140.00  
Renewal Fee      $ 93.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah     397  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Utah Optometry Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Optometric Association  
230 W 200 South Ste 2110  
Salt Lake City UT 84101  
Phone: (801) 364-9103 Fax: (801) 364-9613  
 
American Optometric Association 
1505 Prince Street Suite 300 
Alexandria VA 22314 
Phone: (800) 365-2219 



 

 

 
OSTEOPATHIC PHYSICIAN & SURGEON  

 
An osteopathic physician and surgeon diagnoses and treats diseases of the 
human body with an emphasis on the importance of the muscular-skeletal 
system and in the maintenance and restoration of health.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1199 Health Diagnosing and Treating Practitioners  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $200.00  
Renewal Fee   $183.00  
Renewal Date   May 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah  462  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Osteopathic Association  
Chicago Office – Main Headquarters 
142 E Ontario Street 
Chicago IL 60611 
Phone: (312) 202-8000 Fax: (312) 202-8200 Toll-free phone: (800) 621-1773  
  
 



 

 

 
HUNTING GUIDE - OUTFITTER 

  
"Outfitter" means an individual who offers outfitting services for compensation to 
another individual for hunting wildlife on public lands. "Outfitting services" means 
providing, for hunting wildlife on public lands: transportation of people, 
equipment, supplies, or wildlife to or from a location; or packing, protecting, or 
supervising services. 
 
OES - SOC Code:  39-6022 Travel Guides 
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee   $150.00  
Renewal Fee   $ 50.00  
Renewal Date     March 31, even years    
Number Licensed in Utah  253 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupations & Professional Licensing 
 
Hunting Guides and Outfitters Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations: 
Utah Guides and Outfitters 
 
National Outfitters & Guides Association 
PO Box 1832 
Newport WA 99156 
 



 

 

 
PHARMACIST & PHARMACY TECHNICIANS  

 
A pharmacist, and pharmacy intern/tech compounds and dispenses medications, 
following prescriptions issued by physician, dentist, or other authorized medical 
practitioner.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1051 Pharmacists  

         29-2052 Pharmacy Technicians  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee Pharmacist    $110.00  
Renewal Fee Pharmacist  $ 63.00  
Technicians Fee  $ 60.00  
Technicians Renewal Fee $ 47.00  
Renewal Date  September 30, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah  4,309 all classifications   
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Pharmacy Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Pharmacists Association 
1125 S. Blackhawk Blvd. Suite B 
Mount Pleasant UT  84647  
Phone: (435) 462-5323 Fax: (435) 462-5325 
  



 

 

 
PHYSICAL THERAPISTS  

 
A physical therapist plans and administers medically prescribed physical therapy 
treatment programs for patients to relieve pain, restore function, and prevent 
disability.  
 
OES - SOC Code:  29-1123 Physical Therapists  
   31-2021 Physical Therapists Assistants 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $70.00  
Physical Therapists Assistants  $60.00 
Renewal Fee   $47.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah  1,947  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Physical Therapist Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
359-4417.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Physical Therapy Association 
1111 N Fairfax Street  
Alexandria VA 22314-1488  
Phone: (703) 684-APTA (2782) Toll-free: (800) 999-APTA (2782)  
TDD: (703) 683-6748 Fax: (703) 684-7343  
 
Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy  
124 West Street South, 3rd Floor  
Alexandria VA 22314  
Phone: (703) 299-3100 Fax: (703) 299-3110  
 



 

 

 
PHYSICIAN GENERAL PRACTITIONER  

 
A person who diagnoses or examines in any manner another person, parts of a 
person's body, substances, fluids, or materials excreted, taken, or removed from a 
person's body, or produced by a person's body, to determine the source, nature, kind, 
or extent of a disease or other physical or mental condition.  
 
SOC Code: 29-1062 Family & General practitioner, Physician  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $200.00  
Renewal Fees      $183.00  
Renewal Date      January 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah     8,370  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Utah Medical Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please refer to 
the official application for license to obtain the most current license requirements for 
each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations:  
Utah Medical Association 
310 E 4500 South, Ste 500  
Salt Lake City Utah 84107-4250  
Phone: (801) 747-3500  
 
American Medical Association 
515 N State Street  
Chicago IL 60654  
Phone: (800) 621-8335  
 



 

 

 
PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT  

 
A physician assistant diagnosis, treats, advises, and prescribes for human 
diseases or injuries under the supervision of a licensed physician and in 
accordance with a utilization plan.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1071 Physician Assistant  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee    $180.00  
Renewal Fee     $123.00  
Renewal Date     May 31, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah    862 
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Physician Assistant Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations: 
Federation of State Medical Boards 
Dallas Office – Main Office 
400 Fuller Wiser Rd Suite 300 
Euless TX 76039 
Phone: (817) 868-4000 Fax: (817) 868-4099  
 



 

 

 
PLUMBERS  

 
Plumbers install, maintain, alter, and repair piping systems that carry water, 
steam, air, or other liquids or gases; install and maintain plumbing fixtures, 
appliances, and heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration equipment.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 47-2152 Plumbers, Pipefitter, and Steamfitters  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $110.00  
Renewal Fee  $ 63.00  
Renewal Date      November 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah     4,658  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Utah Uniform Building Standards Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 830-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
The Utah Plumbing & Heating Contractors Association  
8680 Monroe St. Suite A  
Sandy UT  84070 
Phone: (801) 307-5500 Fax: (801) 255-2923 



 

 

 
PODIATRIC PHYSICIAN  

 
A podiatrist diagnoses and treats conditions affecting the human foot, and ankle 
and their manifestations, or deformities of the human foot.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1081 Podiatrists  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee    $200.00  
Renewal Fee     $103.00  
Renewal Date     September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah    174  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Podiatric Physician Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Podiatric Medical Association 
9312 Old Georgetown Road  
Bethesda MD 20814-1621  
Phone: (301) 581-9200 
 
American Board of Podiatric Orthopedics and Primary Podiatric Medicine 
3812 Sepulveda Boulevard, Suite 530  
Torrance CA 90505  
Phone: (310) 375-0700 Fax: (310) 375-1386 Fax #2: (310) 375-1589  
 



 

 

 
PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR  

 
Detects occurrences of unlawful acts or infractions of rules in private 
establishments, or seeks, examines, and compiles information for a client.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 33-9021 Private Detective, Investigator  
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee   $130.25  
F.B.I. Fee      $ 30.25  
Renewal Application $ 100.00 
Number Licensed in Utah  not available  
 
Utah Private Investigator Licensing 
 
Application for Private Investigator License 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Bureau of Criminal Identification  
UDPS - Bureau of Criminal Identification 
3888 W 5400 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84118 
Phone: (801) 965-4445  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
965-4445.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations: 
Utah Peace Officer Standards & Training Academy 
4525 S 2700 West  
Salt Lake City UT 84119-1775  
Phone: (801) 965-4595 Fax: (801) 965-4619  
 



 

 

 
PROBATION PROVIDER, PRIVATE  

 
A private probation provider prepares pre-sentence investigation reports or 
provides probation supervision for individuals who commit minor offenses and 
misdemeanor violations.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 21-1092 Probation Provider, Correctional Treatment 
Specialist  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $85.00  
Renewal Fee   $63.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah  79  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Private Probation Provider Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 



 

 

 
PSYCHOLOGIST  

 
A psychologist deals directly with individuals and groups to promote development 
of their potential or to correct personality disturbances. The psychologist 
interviews, administers and interprets tests, studies case files, and evaluates 
data.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 19-3031 Clinical, Counseling, and School Psychologists  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $200.00  
Renewal Fee   $128.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah   837  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Psychologist Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be by calling (801) 530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Psychological Association  
750 First Street NE  
Washington DC 20002-4242  
Phone: (202) 336-5500 Toll-free: (800) 374-2721  
 
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards 
PO Box 3079 
Peachtree City GA 30269  
Phone: (678) 216-1175 Fax: (678) 216-1176  
 



 

 

 
RADIOLOGY TECHNOLOGIST & RADIOLOGY 

PRACTICAL TECHNICIAN  
 
A radiology technician and technologist uses radiation from a radioactive 
substance, radiology equipment, or any other source, in amounts beyond normal 
background levels, for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes on humans; works 
under the supervision of a radiology practitioner.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-2034 Radiology Technologist and Technicians  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $70.00  
Renewal Fee   $47.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah   2,818  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Radiology Technologist & Radiology Practical Technician Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Society of Radiologic Technologists 
 
American Society of Radiologic Technologists 
15000 Central Ave SE 
Albuquerque NM 87123-3909 
Phone: (505) 298-4500 Fax: (505) 298-5063 



 

 

 
REAL ESTATE SALES AGENT  

 
Rent, buy, or sell property for clients. Performs duties, such as study property 
listings, interview prospective clients, accompany clients to property site, discuss 
conditions of sale, and draw up real estate contracts.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 41-9022 Real Estate Sales Agents  
 
Fees: 
Application Fee   $100.00  
Renewal Fee   $ 64.00  
Recovery Fund Fee  $ 12.00 
Fingerprint Processing Fee  $ 35.00 
Utah Division of Real Estate 
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Utah Department of Commerce  
Utah Division of Real Estate's Official Website 
Heber M Wells Building, 2nd Floor  
160 E 300 S  
Salt Lake City UT 84114  
Phone: (801) 530-6747 Fax: (801) 526-4387  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6747.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations: 
Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR)  
230 W Towne Ridge Parkway, Ste 500 
Sandy UT 84070 
Phone: (801) 676-5200 Toll-Free: (800) 594-8933 
 



 

 

 
REAL ESTATE APPRAISER  

 
A real estate appraiser prepares an unbiased analysis, opinion, or conclusion 
relating to the nature, quality, value, or utility of specified interests in, or aspects 
of, identified real estate or identified real property.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 13-2021 Appraiser or Assessor of Real Estate  
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee    $403.00    
National Registry Fee    $ 50.00   
Real Estate Appraiser Licensing  
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Utah Division of Real Estate  
PO Box 146711  
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6711  
Phone: (801) 530-6747 Fax: (801) 526-4387  
State of Utah Division of Real Estate's Official Website  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6747.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
The Appraisal Foundation  
1155 15th Street, NW Suite 1111 
Washington D.C. 20005 
Phone: (202) 347-7722 Fax: (202) 347-7727 
 
  
 



 

 

 
REAL ESTATE BROKER  

 
A real estate broker, on behalf of another and with the expectation of receiving 
valuable consideration, sells or lists for sale, buys, exchanges, auctions, and 
leases or does property management of real estate.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 41-9021 Real Estate Broker  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $100.00  
Renewal Fee     $ 48.00  
Recovery Fund Fee      $ 18.00  
Fingerprint Processing Fee    $ 35.00 
Utah Division of Real Estate  
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Utah Department of Commerce  
Utah Division of Real Estate Official Website 
PO Box 146711  
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6711  
Phone: (801) 530-6747 Fax: (801) 526-4387 
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6747.  
  
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
National Association of Mortgage Brokers  
11325 Random Hills Rd Suite 360 
Fairfax VA 22030 
Phone: (703) 342-5900 Fax: (703) 342-5905 
 
Utah Association of Mortgage Brokers  
11650 South State St Suite 350 
Draper UT 84020 
Phone: (801) 427-7111  
 



 

 

 
RECREATIONAL THERAPY  

 
A recreational therapist plans, organizes, directs or coordinates medically 
approved recreation programs for patients in hospitals, nursing homes or other 
institutions. May assess a patient condition and recommend appropriate 
recreational activity.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1125 Recreational Therapists  
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee    $70.00  
Renewal Fee    $47.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah    802 All Classifications  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Recreational Therapy Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency: 
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification  
7 Elmwood Drive  
New York City NY 10956  
Phone: (845) 639-1439 Fax: (845) 639-1471  
 



 

 

 
RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE LENDER  

 
Makes or originates a residential mortgage loan directed to, or received in, the 
State of Utah; directly or indirectly solicits, processes, places, or negotiates such 
a mortgage loan, or renders services related to the origination, processing, or 
funding of such a mortgage loan, including taking applications, obtaining 
verifications and appraisals, and communicating with the borrower and lender.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 13-2072 Mortgage Consultants, Escrow Officer  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee Individual  $100.00  
Fingerprint Processing Fee $ 35.00  
Recovery Fund Fee      $ 36.00  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Residential Mortgage Officer 
 
Utah Residential Mortgage Practices and Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Heber Wells Building  
State of Utah Division of Real Estate's Official Website 
160 E 300 South Floor 2  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6747 Fax: (801) 526-4387 
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
540-6747.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators  
1025 Thomas Jefferson St NW Suite 500 E 
Washington, DC 20037 
Phone: (202) 521-3999 Fax: (202) 833-3636  



 

 

 
RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTITIONER  

 
Respiratory care practitioner duties may include the treatment, operation of 
equipment, management, diagnostic testing, care of any human disease, 
deficiency, pain, injury, or other physical condition associated with the 
cardiopulmonary system under qualified medical direction or supervision in 
diagnosis, treatment, and assessment of respiratory problems.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1126 Respiratory Therapists  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $60.00  
Renewal Fee   $52.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah   1,233  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Respiratory Care Practices Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
National Board for Respiratory Care 
18000 W 105th Street  
Olathe KS 66061-7543  
Phone: (913) 895-4900 Fax: (913) 895-4650 Toll-Free: (888) 341-4811 



 

 

 
SECURITIES AGENTS  

 
"Agent" means any individual other than a broker-dealer who represents a 
broker-dealer or issuer in effecting or attempting to effect purchases or sales of 
securities.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 41-3031 Securities Agent  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $60.00  
Renewal Fee  $60.00  
Renewal Date   December 31, each year  
Number Licensed in Utah     Not available  
 
Applications & Forms: Division of Securities Licensing Forms  
 
Utah Uniform Securities Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Utah Division of Securities  
PO Box 146760 
160 E 300 South, 2nd Floor  
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6760  
Phone: (801) 530-6600 Fax: (801) 530-6980 
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official website for license requirements for each type of license. All 
applications are filed electronically through the Central Registration Depository 
(CRD) system.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) 
750 First Street, N.E. Ste 1140  
Washington DC 20002 
Phone: (202) 737-0900 Fax: (202) 783-3571  
 



 

 

 
SECURITIES—BROKER—DEALER  

 
A securities broker or dealer is any person engaged in the business of 
effecting transactions in securities, for the account of others or the 
person’s own account.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 41-3021 Securities Broker, Securities Dealer  
 
Fees:  
Licensing Fee Broker Dealer   $200.00  
Renewal     $200.00  
Renewal Date     December 31, of each year  
Number Licensed in Utah    Not available  
 
Applications & Forms: Division of Securities Licensing Forms 
 
Utah Uniform Securities Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
State of Utah Division of Securities 
Heber M Wells Building  
160 E 300 South, 2nd Floor  
Salt Lake City Utah 84114  
Phone: (801) 530-6600 Fax: (801) 530-6980 
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, 
please refer to the official website for license requirements for each type of 
license. All applications are filed electronically through the Central 
Registration Depository (CRD) system.  
 
 Professional Associations & Organizations:  
North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA)  
750 First Street, N.E. Ste 1140 
Washington DC 20002 
Phone: (202) 737-0900 Fax: (202) 783-3571  

 



 

 

 
SECURITIES-INVESTMENT ADVISER  

 
Any person who, for compensation, engages in the business of advising others, 
either directly or through publications or writings, as to the value of securities or 
as to the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling securities; or who, for 
compensation and as part of a regular business, issues or promulgates analyses 
or reports concerning securities. “Investment adviser” also includes financial 
planners and other persons as an integral component of other financially related 
services.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 41-3031 Securities, Commodities, and Financial Services 
Sales Agent 
 
Fees:  
Firm & Official Application Fee    $100.00  
Representative Fee     $50.00  
License Renewal     December 31, each year 
Number Licensed in Utah     Not available  
 
Utah Uniform Securities Act 
 
Applications & Forms: Investment Advisors & Representative Licensing 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
State of Utah Division of Securities  
160 E 300 South, 2nd Floor  
PO Box 146760  
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6760  
Phone: (801) 530-6600 Fax: (801) 530-6980 
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, 
please refer to the official rule for license to obtain the license 
requirements for each type of license. Applications can be obtained by 
calling (801) 530-6600. All applications are filed electronically through the 
Central Registration Depository (“CRD”) System.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA)  
750 First Street, N. E. Ste 1140 
Washington DC 20002 
Phone: (202) 737-0900 Fax: (202) 783-3571  
 



 

 

 
SECURITY GUARD, ARMED & UNARMED  

 
A security guard guards, patrols, and inspects property to protect it against fire, 
theft, vandalism, and illegal entry. Specific duties vary with size, type, and 
location of employer. A security guard may or may not carry a firearm.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 33-9032 Security Guard, Watchman  
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee    $60.00  
FBI fingerprint file search    $20.00  
BCI fingerprint file search    $20.00  
Renewal Fee    $42.00  
Renewal Date      November 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah   7,770  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Security Personnel Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
International Association of Security and Investigative Regulators 
PO Box 93  
Waterloo IA 50704  
Phone: (888) 35-IASIR or (888) 354-2747 Fax: (319) 232-1488  
Email: Contact@IASIR.org   
 
American Society for Industrial Security International 
1625 Prince Street  
Alexandria VA 22314-2818  
Phone: (703) 519-6200 Fax: (703) 519-6299  
 



 

 

 
SOCIAL SERVICE WORKER, CERTIFIED SOCIAL 

WORKER, & CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER  
 
A social worker applies their training and experience in a variety of settings such 
as counseling individuals, working to strengthen personal and family 
relationships, and helping clients to cope with problems. Social service aides 
work under the close guidance and supervision of professional staff.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 21-1021 Child, Family, & School Social Workers  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee - SSW    $ 85.00  
Renewal Fee - SSW     $ 78.00  
New Application Fee - CSW, LCSW   $120.00  
Renewal Fee – CSW, LCSW   $ 93.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Number Licensed in Utah  5,473 all classifications  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Mental Health Professional Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah National Association of Social Workers 
Utah Chapter NASW University of Utah  
College of Social Work Room 229 
395 S 1500 East  
Salt Lake City UT 84112  
Phone: (801) 583-8855  
 



 

 

 
SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY  

 
Assesses and treats persons with speech, language, voice, and fluency 
disorders. May select alternative communication systems and teach their use. 
May perform research related to speech and language problems.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1127 Speech-Language Pathologists   
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee     $70.00  
Renewal Fee      $47.00  
Renewal Date      May 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah     613  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Speech-Language Hearing Association - USHA  
PO Box 571575 
Murray UT 84157-1575  
Fax: (801) 408-5656  
 
American Academy of Audiology 
11730 Plaza America Drive, Ste 300 
Reston VA 20190  
Phone: (800) AAA-2336 Fax: 703-790-8631  
 



 

 

 
SUBSTANCE ABUSE COUNSELOR - LICENSED  

 
Counsels and advises individuals with alcohol, tobacco, drug, or other problems, 
such as gambling and eating disorders.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 21-1011 Substance Abuse & Behavioral Disorder Counselor  
 
Fees:  
New Application Fee   $85.00  
Renewal Fee   $78.00  
Renewal Date   May 31, odd years  
Number Licensed in Utah   405  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 
Mental Health Professional Practice Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Association of Utah Substance Abuse Professionals 
2919 Granite Hollow 
Sandy UT 84092 
Phone: (801) 733-0606 



 

 

 
TEACHERS—EARLY CHILDHOOD, ELEMENTARY, 

SECONDARY, CERTIFICATION  
 
Early childhood, elementary, and secondary education teachers instruct children 
of preschool age onward in social and academic skills.  
 
OES - SOC Code:  25-2011 Preschool Teachers  

25-2021 Elementary School Teachers  
25-2022 Middle School Teachers  
25-2031 Secondary School Teachers  

Fees:  
Educator Licensing Fees 
Renewal Date Basic Certification  Level 1—three years  

Level 2—five years  
Level 3—seven years  

Number Licensed in Utah not available  
 
Applications & Forms: Educator Quality & Licensing Forms 
 
Licensing Requirements  
Licensing Rules 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Utah State Office of Education 
250 E 500 South  
PO Box 144200  
Salt Lake City UT 84111-4200  
Phone: (801) 538-7740 Fax: (801) 538-7973 
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
538-7740.  
  
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Utah Professional Practices Advisory Commission (UPPAC) 
251 E 500 South 
PO Box 144200 
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
Phone: (801) 538-7500 



 

 

 
VETERINARIAN & VETERINARY INTERNS  

 
A veterinarian diagnoses and treats diseases and disorders of animals.  
 
OES - SOC Code: 29-1131 Veterinarians 
 
Fees:  
New Application Veterinarian   $150.00  
Intern Application Fee   $ 35.00  
Renewal Fee Veterinarian   $ 73.00  
Renewal Date      September 30, even years  
Numbered Licensed in Utah   605  
 
Applications & Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 
Veterinary Practice Act  
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3685 Fax: (801) 530 -6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
American Veterinary Medical Association 
Headquarters 
1931 N Meacham Road, Ste 100  
Schaumburg IL 60173-4360  
Phone: (800) 248-2862 Fax: (847) 925-1329  
 
 



 

 

 
VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION COUNSELOR 

 
"Practice of providing vocational rehabilitation services" means rendering or 
offering to an individual, group, organization, or the general public vocational 
rehabilitation services: in public or private practice; for compensation; and 
involving the application of principles, methods, or procedures of the vocational 
rehabilitation counseling profession, which include: vocational assessment; 
vocational rehabilitation counseling and guidance; vocational and other training 
services; self-employment plans; job analysis; and job placement. 
 
OES - SOC Code: 21-1012 Educational, Guidance, School, and Vocational 
Counselor 
 
Fees: 
New Application Fee   $70.00  
Renewal Fee $47.00  
Renewal Date     March 31 annually     
Number Licensed in Utah  183  
 
Applications and Forms: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional 
Licensing  
 
Vocational Rehabilitation Counselors Licensing Act 
 
Regulatory Agency:  
Department of Commerce  
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
160 E 300 South  
Salt Lake City UT 84111  
Phone: (801) 530-6628 Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675 Fax: (801) 530-6511  
 
Please note that licensing requirements change periodically. Therefore, please 
refer to the official application for license to obtain the most current license 
requirements for each occupation. Applications can be obtained by calling (801) 
530-6628.  
 
Professional Associations & Organizations:  
Code of Professional Ethics for Rehabilitation Counselors 
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