Eligible Training Provider Application
If you represent a school, college or university and would like to become an eligible training provider of adult education, occupational skills or post-secondary education, you’re in the right place.
If you are a job seeker, this is not the correct application for you to complete. Please log in to My Job Search and click on Apply for Training Services.
In July 2014 Congress passed the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA). The focus of WIOA is to provide performance, cost and other detail that potential students need in order to make an informed choice on training program selection. WIOA governs the process and requirements for schools to be eligible for funds from DWS students.
Your school must:
- Be registered with the Division of Consumer Protection as a Post-Secondary Proprietary School. If you are registered as exempt with the Division of Consumer Protection, you must be governed by a Utah accrediting body such as Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, Nursing Assistant Registry, Division of Real Estate or Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.
- Government entities and basic education providers are exempt from this criteria
- Be located in the state of Utah. For online training where the corporate location is located in another state, you must be on that state’s Eligible Training Provider List before applying in Utah.
- Have less than a 20% average federal loan default rate for the last 3 reported years OR have a plan to reduce it below 20%.
Program of Study Requirements:
You must apply for every program of study you want to have determined eligible. In order to have performance data for DWS students to make an informed choice on program selection, your program of study must operate for at least two years after the first training class completes. You will be required to report the following data elements:
- # of students that obtain completion credential in the last year
- # of students enrolled in program in the last year
- #of students exited program
- Exit is defined as any student that completes the program, as well as any student that drops out or transfers programs and does not re-enroll in the same program within a 6 month period.
- % of students that obtained employment 6 months after completion
If the program you are applying for is an online training it must be part of a curriculum where lessons are assigned, completed and returned; and requires students to interact with instructors and take periodic tests. Self-directed online training that is not instructor-led cannot be determined eligible.
Apply for Eligibility:
If you meet the above requirements, link here to apply to be an eligible training provider.
- If you are a provider that is already on the Eligible Training Provider List and would just like to add a program you can do that by logging in to your training provider account and click on the Programs Tab.
- If you are a student trying to apply for training services you can do that by logging in to your my Job Search account and clicking the “Apply for Training Services” link.
After you complete your portion of the application, it takes 45 days to be reviewed and a decision made.
DWS cannot pay for any costs incurred prior to approval.
- You will be required to prominently post the DWS Equal Opportunity Notice.
- Placement of your school’s program information on our Eligible Training Provider list will occur.
- DWS customers will choose the program that best meets their needs and contact you if chosen.
- Every year you will be required to complete a review of the program(s) approved.