

# **On-the-Job Training**

## **PROGRAM DESCRIPTION**

The On-the-Job Training (OJT) Program offers reimbursement to employers who provide customized job training for participants. Employers can be in the public, private or nonprofit sector.

- · Employers will be reimbursed for up to 50 percent of the participant wages during training
- Positions must be a minimum of 32 hours per week
- An OJT contract must be negotiated prior to the hire
- OJT contracts may be up to six months

#### **BENEFITS TO EMPLOYERS**

- Reimbursement will help to offset expenses incurred during new employee training for qualifying employees
- Opportunity to train employees to the specific methods of your company
- DWS will refer potential employees to you for interview and selection

### **EMPLOYER REQUIREMENTS**

Employers must:

- Have a physical location in Utah, have at least one employee and be current in payment of Unemployment Insurance/Contribution taxes to the state of Utah
- Provide IRS Employer Identification Number
- Comply with all labor laws including wage and hour, and health and safety
- · Have Workers Compensation or similar insurance for employees
- Intend to provide permanent employment and to maintain hours and wages beyond the OJT contract period

#### **APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS**

 DWS must determine eligibility for participants according to state and federal law before the individual is hired. Types of applicants that may be eligible include workers laid off from a previous position, economically disadvantaged workers who need to upgrade their skills and workers entering the workforce for the first time.

#### NEXT STEPS TO PARTICIPATE

- Participating employers must sign an agreement with DWS before hiring an OJT employee
- For additional information and to sign a contract to participate, please contact the nearest DWS Employment Center. Locations are available at http://jobs.utah.gov/regions/ec.html

# jobs.utah.gov • 1-888-920-WORK

140 East 300 South • Salt Lake City, Utah 84111

american**iob**center

Equal Opportunity Employer/Program • 07-73-1017

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Call 801-526-9240. Individuals with speech or hearing impairments may call the state relay by dialing 711. Spanish Relay Utah: 1-888-346-3162.