DSDHH Logo

Certification and Recognition Overview

Utah law states, “an individual is required to be certified as a certified interpreter if that individual provides interpreter services” (Utah Code 35A-13-6). All working interpreters in Utah must have their certification issued or recognized by the Utah Interpreter Program (UIP). Interpreters possessing state of Utah certifications or other certifications (NAD, RID, EIPA) determined to be accepted by the Interpreter Certification Board (ICB) may provide interpreting services in Utah, provided they are in compliance with the requirements for certification and recognition set forth in the policies and procedures of the UIP.

Certification Process Overview

The certification process for Utah-issued Novice and Professional certifications requires passing a knowledge exam and a performance exam. Candidates must pass the knowledge exam before they are permitted to take the performance exam. At this time, a college degree is not required, but candidates must be at least 18 years of age and have no code of ethics violations, or other issues that may preclude working as a certified interpreter in Utah.

The Certification Process for Utah-issued Certified Deaf Interpreter (UCDI) requires Passing a performance exam and a knowledge exam.  Candidates must pass the performance exam before they are permitted to take the knowledge exam. At this time, a college degree is not required, but candidates must be at least 18 years of age and have no code of ethics violations, or other issues that may preclude working as a certified interpreter in Utah.

Step 1: Take the Utah Certification Knowledge Exam

Two students taking the knowledge exam on computers

The Utah certification process starts with a 100 multiple-choice exam that evaluates your knowledge of the profession of interpreting and may include, but is not limited to ethics (40%), interpreting (20%), culture (20%), ASL and English language (10%) and history and laws (10%).

This computer-based exam will provide results immediately upon completion of the exam. A passing score is 80%. A successful knowledge exam is valid for five years. Retaking the knowledge exam will be required if the validation period has expired. If a candidate does not meet the minimum score required on the knowledge exam, a 7-day waiting period is required before attempting to retest. Retesting will require another application and full testing fee.

Exams are given at the Sanderson Community Center of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing at 5709 South 1500 West, Taylorsville, Utah.

You must apply online to see exam schedule and set up an exam appointment. 

Apply Now

Instructions for setting up your online interpreter account in order to “Login / Apply to Become an Interpreter”.


Study Materials

Four books for studying

Study materials may be available to check out for up to 30 days for those who have submitted an application and paid the fee. Contact uip@utah.gov to check availability of study materials. The recommended reading materials for the knowledge exam include:

  • Reading Between the Signs: Intercultural Communication for Sign Language Interpreters by Anna Mindess
  • Sign Language Interpreting: Exploring Its Art and Science by David A. Stewart, Jerome Schein, and Brenda Cartwright.
  • So You Want to Be an Interpreter by Janice H. Humphrey and Bob J. Alcorn
  • Journey into a Deaf World by Harlan Lane, Robert Hoffmeister and Ben Bahan
  • Demand and Control Schema by Robyn Dean (available electronically by request)
  • Encounters with Reality: 1001 Interpreter Scenarios by Brenda Cartwright
  • Mask of Benevolence: Disabling the Deaf Community Harlan Lane
  • RID Code of Professional Conduct
  • Utah Interpreter Program Policy and Procedures Manual
  • Utah Interpreter Law

Step 2 (Optional): Utah Certification Mock Exam

You must first pass the Utah knowledge exam before scheduling the Utah Certification mock exam. 

This practice exam is available at no charge. Mock exams are designed to familiarize candidates with the Novice Level examination process only. All examination steps will be explained and questions answered. Candidates must bring their own blank USB/flash drive if they would like a copy of their mock exam.

To apply for a mock exam, send a request to uip@utah.gov with "Mock Exam Request" in the subject line. Mock exams are given on Monday, Wednesday or Friday between 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Please list a few date options when making a request.


Step 3: Take the Utah Certification Performance Exam

More New and updated information coming soon! If you have any questions please contact UIP at uip@utah.gov.

Apply Now

Instructions for setting up your online interpreter account in order to “Login / Apply to Become an Interpreter”.