DSDHH Logo

Certification Renewal/Recognition Overview

Utah Law 35A-13-6 requires that in order to maintain certification interpreters must complete a renewal. The renewal requirements vary depending on the type of certification the interpreter holds.

Annual Certification Renewal/Recognition

All interpreters are required to complete an annual renewal, which includes updating contact information and paying a renewal fee. Additional information may be required, such as copies of EIPA or RID certificates, if applicable.

Apply for Renewal/Recognition

Continuing Education Hours

All certified interpreters are required to complete Continuing Education Hours (CEHs) in order to maintain their certification. The number of CEHs required depends on the interpreter’s certification type/level. View all CEH requirements.

Apply for CEHs

Appeals

If ALL the renewal/recognition requirements are not satisfied or an interpreter is found to be not eligible for certification, the Utah Interpreter Program may lapse/un-recognize certification. Interpreters have 30 days to appeal this decision. For more information, contact uip@utah.gov.

Application Fees

Fee Type

Utah State Certification
(Master, Professional, Novice)

RID Certification Recognition

EIPA Score Recognition
(Elementary/Secondary)

Multiple Certifications*

Annual Certification Renewal/Recognition

$70

$50

$70

$70

Late Fees (In addition to annual fees)

$80

$80

$80

$80

*Those that possess multiple certifications may have additional certifications recognized free of charge at whichever rate is higher.