Golden Key Awards

Golden Key Awards

Every year the Utah Governor’s Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities and their partners honor people and businesses with the Golden Key Award. It recognizes those who have helped promote employment opportunities for people with disabilities.

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), signed into law on July 26, 1990, is one of America’s most comprehensive pieces of civil rights legislation. Modeled after the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the ADA is an “equal opportunity” law for people with disabilities.

In honor of the ADA, the Governor’s Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities and Disability:IN Utah, Utah's Business Leadership Network, invites community members to nominate local businesses that have gone above and beyond in their recruiting, hiring, retaining and promoting of individuals with disabilities. 

2021 Golden Key Awards

Watch then-Governor-Elect Spencer Cox discuss ways that the state of Utah is supporting hiring individuals with disabilities during our 2020 awards ceremony.

The Golden Key Awards will be held in conjunction with the Disability:IN Utah Summit in Salt Lake City in October 2021. The 2021 nomination form is now available online. Submit nominations-related questions, letters of support, or request the nomination form in alternative format to

Online Nomination Form


Award Categories

  • Business of the Year – Small, Medium and Large
  • Ace Award – Individual or advocate
  • Freedom Award – Hiring and retention of disabled veterans and newly added
  • ASAP Achievement Award – State agency with best utilization of the Alternative State Application Process 
  • Provider of the Year – Going above and beyond what is expected in their regular work

2020 Winners

Learn about our 2020 winners on our blog:

  • Large Business of the Year – Brian Head Resort
  • Medium Business of the Year – Wilson Electronics
  • Small Business of the Year – Avian Sanctuary and Preserve
  • Freedom Award – Le Bus
  • Ace Business Award – Rock Exotica
  • Ace Citizen Award – Laura & Matt Perry
  • Ace Advocate Award – Timothy Brown
  • ASAP Achievement Award – Unemployment Insurance Division
  • Community Partner Provider Award – Dee Collett
  • Counselor Provider Award – Emilee Evans
  • Educator Provider Award – Michael Bingham
  • Service & Influence Award – Michael Cain

2019 Winners

Learn about our 2019 winners in the following videos:


Leah Lobato, Director

Suzy Sanchez, Executive Assistant